Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was playing a casual game of Magic yesterday, and managed to pull and 'Infinite Loop'.
Using 2 Rotlung Reanimators (whenever a Cleric is sent to a graveyard, put a 2/2 Zombie token into play), a Nantuko Husk (sacrifice a card to put a +1/+1 counter on Nantuko Husk), and Conspiracy (creatures you control become creature type of your choice).
I set Conspiracy to 'cleric', sacrificed one of my other clerics to my Nantuko husk, causing each of my RRs to put a token into play (which was now also a cleric thanks to Conspiracy). I sacrificed one of these clerics to NH, generating another 2 cleric tokens. I [theoretically] kept doing this, so that I had an 'infinite' pile of tokens on my Nantuko Husk, and an 'infinite' number of Cleric tokens on the field.
We ran into trouble when I then played Profane Prayers (target player takes X damage, AND you gain X life, where 'X' is the number of Clerics in play). So, my opponent is hit for infinite damage, and I gain infinite life, thanks to my "infinite" pile of tokens generated that turn.
He responded by giving himself protection from Black with an instant, saving himself from taking any damage, and leaving him in the game. However, I still gained "Infinite" life.
So now what? Does the game end because he cannot take my life points down to 0? If I were to play a second Profane Prayers and gain another "Infinite" life, do I now have 2x'Infinite'? If he deals damage directly to me, and my life points drop, what number am I at now (Infinite-1 = ??), likewise, if my Infinite/Infinite Nantuko Husk gained trample and were blocked, would it still be able to destroy a player with 'Infinite' life? I have so many questions!!
We kept playing the game, as he tried to force me to draw out, even though he had only a few cards which forced me to draw. How do you guys play with the rule for "infinite"? I've heard that for MTG purposes, 104,000 is considered "Infinite", but I've never seen it officially confirmed.
if i remember right from my dci days of being a former lvl1 judge, you cannot have "infinite" life, you actually have to clearly state a finite number from which to draw upon..... This allows your opponent to respond accordingly. I've run across instances like this back in the mirrodin block wit an old fashioned ironworks/myr retriever combo. They'd just use auriok champion/genesis chamber while funnelling this "battery" or do it with black and use disciple of the vault. Believe me your instance isn't the first, and as far as i know, the ruling for selecting an actual number for when you are generating life/damage like that still stands.
I wonder if there will be cake.....
Neobubblez is right, you have to state a number - it can be any number, so twenty billion is valid - but infinite can't exist in the M:TG setting.
1. Play RR
2. Play SW
3. Play Conspiracy
4. Play BS
5. Sacrifice a cleric to BS while tapping BS, deal 1 damage
6. RR brings a fresh cleric token into play (Conspiracy), SW grants 1 life, and BS untaps
7. Repeat steps 5-7 as many times as you'd like
Alright though, thanks for the ruling on "infinite". I think from now on I'll just say something like "Pi to the thousandth power" or something, haha. +Rep guys.