Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just want to get some clarification on the the instant Death rule and its wording.
Last battle I took my Chaos Daemons against a friends Eldar army which consisted of D-Cannons and Wraithguard. At one point he fired both at my Bloodthirster which raised the point of instant Death. The Eldar rule for both reads like this:
The Wraithcannon/D-cannon always wounds on a roll of 2+, and a roll of a 6 inflicts instant death on the the victim (regardless of it Toughness value).
And All Daemons get the Eternal Warrior rule which reads like this (would also like to point out that this rule is only in the Eldar/CSM codex):
Phoenix Lords can never truly be destroyed, and are immune to the effects of the Instant Death Rule.
A Daemon Prince is immune to the Instant Death Rule.
So Does this mean that we are immune to instant Death only where toughness is a concern or does it mean we avoid Instant death altogether. It may seem like nit picking but as this can turn the tides of a battle we'd like like to know what the general consensus is.
Instant Death is Instant Death throughout, regardless of circumstances.
Therefore, your Daemon Prince would only lose a wound, rather than be killed outright.
EDIT: This should really go into the rules queries forum, which is here: 40k Rules Help - Librarium Online
Last edited by Kabanov; May 30th, 2008 at 16:34. Reason: Adding note
If it ain't broke, it might need fixing.
The difficult we do immediately. The impossible may take a little longer.US Army Corps of EngineersMember of Advanced 40K development team (self-appointed)
Kabanov is correct, Immunity to Instant Death means just that. The only exceptions are those which state that they destroy the target regardless, such as Vortex Grenades from Apocalypse.
If I remember correctly, currently the Force Weapon psychic attack can kill creatures immune to instant death, as they do not specifically state that they cause it (they "kill the target outright regardless of wounds" etc); however this is being 'fixed' for 5th Edition.