Welcome to Librarium Online!
Well I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, but I don't se any place better so I'm going to post it here.
Now the idea was that I wanted to create my own apoc. piece, and since I'm on the start of a new army(chaos space marines) I've decided to create a Chaos piece( you can kinda tell from the title). But I guess it doesn't matter what army you play because you can still play with this piece either way .
NOTE: I may or may not actually try to create this piece, seeing that I probably won't playing apoc. But it still be interesting to create
And yes, I plan to create a FAQ about this , and a drawing!
Tower of Chaos
Type: The Tower of Chaos counts as two vehicles for one whole unit. The unit is divided into two parts, the Bottom Tower and the Top Tower.
Wargear: See the Tower Entires for the different weapons and options.
Deamonic Possession: The Tower of Chaos has the Deamonic Possession Vehicle upgrade, as described in the Chaos Codex.
Two Targets: Since the Tower of Chaos counts as two units in one, units have to randomize which part of the Tower of Chaos they hit. So each unit firing at it rolls one D6 representing the entire unit and refere to the following chart.
1-3 = firing at the Bottom Tower
4-6 = firing at the Top Tower
For assaulting, the unit may choose whether they want to attack the Bottom Tower or the Top Tower( see the Living Deamon Special Rule)
Living Deamon: The Top Tower is part machine, part deamon. To represent this, the deamon may fight back and can go into combat, under the following conditions.
1. The Top Tower may only attack on the opponent's turn if the opposing unit decides to attack the Top Tower(assuming that the Top Tower is bending down to attack them so they can reach him.) On the owner's turn, the Top Tower may attack the
2. Seeing that the Top Tower and the attacking unit has quite a bit of distance from each other, both sides don't get a "to hit" roll better then a 4+.
3. The attacking unit and the Bottom Tower counts as being locked in combat ( as the Top Tower can still technically fight). But the Top Tower is not always locked into combat, depending if it's attacking a unit or being attacked by a unit. The Top Tower may in fact still shoot at other targets( obviously not the ones in combat with the Bottom Tower) Likewise when not being attacked, it still may be shot by other units during your opponents shooting phase.
Two Different Pieces, Two Different Destructions: As the Chaos Tower is two different pieces, it follows certain rules when a piece get's destroyed.
Top Tower: When the Top Tower gets destroyed, the Bottom Tower is not affected in anyway what so ever, as in it can still only move 6" per turn. And of course all the other units shooting at Tower of Chaos automatically will be shooting at the Bottom Tower. The Top Tower assumes to collape straight down therefore not hurting anyone else either.
Bottom Tower: The Bottom Tower being destoryed can be either a bad thing or a really really bad thing. If it is destroyed then the tower is still assumed to be still standing onto the Bottom Tower( as in it's still there, but it's just been broken to bits), therefore the Top Tower counts as being immoblized( as in it can't even turn anymore, assuming that the turning device is broken or something).
However, if the Bottom Tower has been exploded, annilated, etc then the opposing player must roll one D6 and follow the chart below
1-2 = the Top Tower is still standing(some how) and may continue to fire, but is immoblized and stunned.
3-4= the Top Tower collapes and lands on the ground, but not destroyed. However it may not shoot or fight back in combat until the end of the owner's turn ( if this happens during the owners turn then it will turn back to normal on the next owner's turn, not the one during this result). Note that if there's any units locked into combat, they are not affected from this fall.
5= the Top Tower collapes and lands on the ground. The Top Tower is then destroyed and kept on the table as terrain. Note that if there's any units locked into combat, they are not affected from this fall.
6= the Top Tower falls at a certain direction ( roll a scatter dice, a hit would be a reroll) and 2D6" distance from the edge of the Top Tower. Create a straight line and go down the dircetion from where the scatter rolls and at the very end of the line, place down a large blast template. Any unit being hit from this guy is wounded D6 times on a 4+ and dies outright( no saves what so ever, not even cover or invunerable)saves). If it hits a vehicle, it glances on a single roll of 1-3, and a penetrate on a 4-6. All the rolling from the falling of the Top Tower is rolled by the opponent of the Tower of Chaos.
BS Front Side Back
4 14 13 13
Wargear: The Bottom Tower contains two side sponsor twin linked lascannons, turret mounted twin linked heavy bolter and a mounted multi melta.
Special Rules: Too much load: Even though the Bottom Tower counts as a tank. The maximum it can move would be 6", seeing that itís holding so much load on itís back. All the normal rules still apply to the Bottom Tower for moving and shooting.
Options: Replace the Twin linked Heavy bolter for one of the following: twin linked assault cannon for +10 pts, twin linked plasma cannon for 15+, twin linked Lascannon for +20 pts.
The Bottom Tower may be given the following upgrades from the Chaos Codex: Dozer Blade for 5 pts, one of the following: twin linked bolter for 5pts, combi weapon for 10 pts, havoc launcher for 15pts.
WS BS S Front Side Back I A
3 4 6 13 12 11 3 4
Wargear: The Top Tower contains a Defiler Battlecannon, A twin linked Lascannon(right arm and an Autocannon.(left hand)
Special Rules: Attached: Even though itís technically itís own unit, the Top Tower cannot move on itís own. It does not counts as immobilized as it can still turn left and right. Since it doesnít move at all, it counts as staying stationary when it is attached to the Bottom Tower.
Options: Replace the Autocannon with one of the following: twin linked assault cannon for +10 pts, twin linked plasma cannon for +15 points. Replace the autocannon with a dreadnought close combat weapon for free ( +1 A).
The Top Tower may be given the following upgrades from the Chaos Codex: +5, one of the following: twin linked bolter for +5pts, combi weapon for +10 pts, havoc launcher for +15pts.
erm, bit complex...
Even Super-Heavy vehicles such as the Bnaeblade or ShadowSword, and Titans, don't count as multiple vehicles, though it might actually be a reasonable way of modelling the larger vehicles. I would suggest that the rules be simplified to match maybe a superheavy vehicle or Titan. This actually seems to be an attempt to model something big and nasty like a giant siege engine - maybe even a Khorne Lord of Battles? That would be pretty cool - a Lord Of Battles is approx twice the height of a BloodThirster, and carries a whole range of nasty close-combat goodness (a giant chainaxe) and shooty goodness (a large number of short-ranged large calibre guns and melta-type weaponry)
I have a FAQ up, the 1st edition ( and yes these are questions I thought up of because of the bugs on this unit)
Question: (This is refering to 5th ed) suppose one piece is covered by terrain and can't be shot at, while the other one can. Do you still have to randomly roll to see which piece?
Answer: No, since you can't technically even aim at the piece that's in terrain( providing that you can't see it at all), you can aim directing that the part that's not in cover)
Q: Can the two parts of the Tower of Chaos aim a two different units?
A: Yes, it counts as two entire different untis.
Q: If one part get's crew stunned or crew shaken, can the other part stil fire and move as normal?.
A: *sighs* yes it counts as two entire different units.
Q: Can the two parts....
A: *shoots the question dude* ok, you've asked a question 2 times already and it's gotten the same answer, so clam it ok?
Q: *new person* Ok, so when the top tower falls and scatters on terrain, they don't get a cover save right?
A: That is correct, looks like I have an ilelligent person here ^^
Q: Another question, is this a legal piece for a warhammer game?
Q: As in could I possbly take it to a GT?
Q: Or is it only playable in friendly games and apocloypes?
A.... ummm do you mind grabbing a soda from the fridge?
Q: Ummm sure? *goes in the kitchen, opens the fridge which is the portal to oblivion*
A: *needs a rest* Ok folks I think this is it for today, I'll have a version 2 of it coming out soon.
Oh sorry kithre I didn't see you post there.
Yes I know it seems.. err complex. I know what your trying to say about the "multiple vehicle" thing. I wanted to try something different and stuff like that. I was planning to do a battle with a friend using this machine, and see if it works good with 2 units in one, or just count it as a titan.
I actually think this is quite an elegant way of simulating very big and complex war machines at a 40K scale, like I said, maybe a leviathan, which is unlikely to be blown-up in one shot...
ok ladies and gents, what I have here is a rough sketch on what it's suppose to look like. The sizes arn't going to be the excact same( and I'm reconsidering the top tower) but here we go
1) yes the bottom is going to be a land raider, looks more like a Rhino
2) the idea of the top was suppose to be a heavly converted defiler, but I'm thinking about using a converted soul grinder instead.
Thoughts and critzim appreciated ^_^