Welcome to Librarium Online!
A question came up during a game with my friend the other day. He had plasmacannons and lascannons in the same dev squad, and the question came up of when he had to declare what the target models for the PC were, and when he had to measure the range of the LC's. You have to declare the model for the PC before measuring its distance, but he argued that he could say he shoots the lascannons and then measure the distance, and then legally use that measurement to decide the target for the PC blasts. I looked it up and I could find rules about
1) having to shoot the plasmacannons if he didn't declare he was not going to before shooting the lascannons. That part is cool, neither one of us dispute this one in this case, he HAS to fire the PC, even if he finds them not to be in range after shooting the lascans
2) I have to let him do all shots before I start doing saves. This can work for or against me depending on the situation, same for him and we both find no issue with this.
However, I could find nowhere that it said when you have to measure for individual weapons, and nowhere that said he had to roll them all and/or declare targets before he measured with a different weapon. Anyone have any thoughts on this? We both feel its kind of a loophole, but if it is the case, we will both start doing it. However, best-case is there is some kind of rule to prevent it.
If it is one unit, you declare who is firing at what unit before measuring.
So if he finds that the plasma cannons are out of range he must still roll for them.
See the paragraphs under Check Range and the paragraph about Get's hot
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
The act of measuring for distance for another weapon before declaring blast targets feels wrong, but according to the rules as far as I can see, it's right. If you think about it, it's not some special advantage of lascannons either... any other weapon in the squad can measure distance, even a 12" weapon, per the rules. It says measure to the nearest model in the squad, so it doesn't matter what the max distance of the firing weapons are. Actually, now that I think about it, according to this rule, could do it on the plasmacannon itself. Because there isn't an explicit rule on *when* to declare the blast target, you can measure for the plascan itself before choosing a target!
Last edited by rockdeity; September 19th, 2008 at 17:05.
all shots in a given unit happens simultaneously. It says so when regarding units in transports, that if say the lascannonn shot the transport and destroyed it the PC can't target the troops that come out of it.
Keeping that in mind it rules out any fluff for using the lascannon as spotting range as they are in the same unit. So place the template first, then check range. In the old rules (although it might have been older, 3rd) you had to do guess and scatters first anyways. Now if he still wanted to get a spotting range, having another unit fire at the same unit would be sufficient.
Most Notable Achievements:
Killed a Revenant Titan in one shot.
Killed 900 pts worth of Blood Angels in 2 turns while only loosing 4 pts.