Welcome to Librarium Online!
I've just begun playing, and I have a question about the Necron Lord. When upgrading to the warscythe, does he lose his ranged attack?
I've been reading around and found mixed answers. I don't see a reason why he would, as the rules don't specifically state that he does, and the model I have even has the plastic tube that goes on gauss rifles, and the thing at the tip of the gun.
The thinking seems to be that because the Pariah's specifically say there is a gauss rifle, that means the Lord's scythe must say it has one too. Yet the weapon models look exactly the same.
"... He may also upgrade his Staff of Light to a Warscythe..."
Quoted from the unit entry in Codex: Necrons, page 16.
Seeing as choosing this upgrade would replace his Staff of Light, which contains the ranged attack within its profile, with a Warscythe, which does not include a ranged attack within its profile. No. If you give him a Warscythe, he cannot make a ranged attack.
Regarding the Pariahs. Their entry specifically reads "Warscythe with built-in gauss blaster" The Necron Lord's warscythe is listed in the wargear section (page 14) which includes no mention of having a build in gauss blaster. So once again, no. He cannot make a ranged attack if he upgrades to a Warscythe, unless he selects the Nightmare Shroud wargear - which has an effect that can be used in the shooting phase in place of firing a weapon.
I've recently become a fan of this thing called Dubstep. And you should too.
Datsik & Flux Pavillion - Crunch (Youtube)
Da Moo Kowz is da drinkinest Orks of dem all!
My impression is that the armory section is for all the weapons, not just the Lord's. If those rules only apply to the Lord, then Pariah's don't ignore saves? On page 17 it makes no mention about Pariahs ignoring saves, so they wouldn't because the warscythe described in the armory makes no mention of a blaster, so they can't be using the same scythe by your logic. I assumed the ranged attack would use blaster rules.
It looks to me like there's only one type of warscythe, and they called it a warscythe rather than write out "warscythe with blaster". Just look at the Lord's model, it has a tube and barrel tip. Anyone else have any thoughts?
Until the update (whenever that will be), the Lord's Warscythe does not have a built in Gauss Blaster. You'll want to download the latest Necron FAQ, because it deals with this exact question in very straight forward terms.
As far as the listing of only one "Warscythe", the base weapon is a Warscythe. Think of the built-in Gauss Blaster as similar to SMurfs MasterCrafting a weapon, it doesn't alter the base weapon's stats, it just adds a rule.
Mysterious Member of the ANZAC Clan
I found this in the Necron FAQ that is on the company's site.
Q. Do Necron Lords that upgrade their staff of
light to a warscythe lose the shooting attack
from the staff?
A. Yes they do.
So that's what I will go with. I still find it odd that the scythe looks exactly the same, but oh well.
Every Necron Lord currently sold has a warscythe, the only difference being a double edged tip, the blaster components are still there. I think there's some older models that the lord has a staff of light.
Necron Lord Destroyer Comes with a Staff of Light and a Warscythe that looks different to the Pariah one (As I remember). Also, as a GW staff member told me, the weapon that comes with the Necron Lord is considered to be one or the other.
Silensedge casts necromancy on Ancient Thread. It's super effective!