Welcome to Librarium Online!
I am still getting used to third edition (I was a long time 2nd edition player) and I do have a question about pistols in close combat; are they allowed? My buddy says they are not, but that does not make any sense.
This should be in Rules Help, but whatever...
They don't fire into close combat, if that's what you mean. If your character has another 1-handed weapon, then he gets an extra attack for being armed with two hand weapons.
That's really all it does. Just gives you another attack.
If a tree falls in the forest, and it lands on a mime, does anyone care?
All pistols do in combat is count as a close combat weapon.
This should be in rules help but I can't be bothered moving it and the question is answered anyway.
They just give one more attack in combat, out of combat they just use normal shooting rules. The only plasma pistol that isnt like this is cyphers(sp?) of the fallen angels his counts as a power weapon in close combat.
The poster formaly known as VampireSoul, formaly known as OrkSlugga now known as Orkslugga.