Welcome to Librarium Online!
Okay, this may be a bit complicated, but bear with me.
Lets say there are two squads in close combat, squad A and squad B. They have been in close combat a number of turns and it is a stalemate. Both squads A and B have the same initiative, strength, toughness, etc.
Another squad, squad C, comes along and charges into close combat against A, helping squad B.
There is an independent character in squad C who has a higher initiative than anybody in squad A, so he attack first. With his higher-initiative attacks he kills every member of squad A who is in base-to-base contact with any member of either squad B or squad C.
So, the ultimate question is, since squad A is no longer in base-to-base contact with any models in either squad B or C, is close combat over? Do the lower initiative models from squads B and C still get their attacks even though there is no base-to-base contact? If not, do squads B and C get to consolidate?
Thanks in advance.
Oh, my fault, can someone please move this to the 40k rules section for me please? Sorry.
Here's what I think would happen, but I'm not sure.
Alright, as I see it- the combat is certainly NOT over. Combat is not over until 1 side is utterly wiped out, or is dead. As Character C was merciful enough to leave survivors, the melee is still active.
In the event that contact is broken, the round of CC stops there, winners are determined, break tests are taken, and units consolidate.
Remember however, that this event is unlikely. As the rules are right now, the character could kill whoever he is base-to-base with, but casualties beyond that are removed at the defender's choosing.
Awesome, that's what I thought too. Thanks!
I was pretty sure all of these base to base contact barely mattered anymore with group fighting. Your IC would get his attacks and these could come from anywhere in your enemy's unit. Simply removing those in B2B contact with your other squad doesn't end combat.
Though I don't know for sure, I would certainly play it as though there was no issue about base to base contact and allow all the rest of squads A,B, and C to duke it out.
Ic's must be in base contact to be able to strike at all.
(ic's are treated as a separate unit in CC)
don't forget the pile-in at the end of the combat to get back in base contact:
if squad A wasnt able to pile in to B2B with the attackers, then that combat is over.
However, thats highly unlikely since its a 6" move, from both sides.
If it were to happen by some freak chance, then both units get to consolidate.
This is all in the book under Pile in!
A unit must have at least one model in base contact with the targeted enemy unit(s) in order to have any attacks according to the bullet points on page 35 of the BRB.
This means both squads A and B are done for the remainder of that assault phase. If Squad C is on one of the other two player's side, the player who controls C has won the assault and the other player's squad must test for fall back. If the passed, the squads will pile in and continue going at it.
If they are on separate sides from Squad C (in a 3-way battle), they both would lose to that squad because of all those casualties and would have to both test for fall back. If one or both pass the test and stay in close combat, those units will pile in for more close combat.
have had this happen to me. smart opponent.
i was playing WS and opponent orks.
2 units of bikes charge a 30 man orc unit.
Khan is in one unit (gives his unit furious assault) they go first between the khan and the unit dealing 10 wounds.
opponent takes those 10 wounds from those in b2b with bike squad b.
bike squad b now has no one in base to base AND no one withing 2" of them so they now have no attacks as nothing to attack.
orks attack back doing 0 wounds on the Khan's unit.
being over 11 models orks fearless take 10 AS and fail 6
both bike squads pile into the orks (now at 14 models)
Painting: 20 quarrelers