Astropaths - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Astropaths

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)
    1 (x1)

    Inspired by the Immaterium chapter of the rulebook(Pgs 122 - 123), I thought these would make fun Psykers for an army.


    Pts WS BS S T W I A Ld Sv
    125 2 2 2 2 2 5 1 10 4+

    An Astropath bears only a simple close-combat weapon and laspistol.

    Independent Character

    Soul Binding
    The Astropath has undergone years of training in mental disciplines, culminating in the Soul Binding, in which some of the immense psychic power of the almighty emporer is passed on to the psyker.
    As a result, the Astropath is well tempered against psychic attacks, and will always recieve a 3+ invulnerable save against force weapons, wounds caused by psychic powers and even against wounds caused by Perils of the Warp. (Note that this obviously overrules the Perils of the Warp rules in the rulebook.)

    Through many years probing the immaterium, and through the experience of the Soul Binding, the Astropath's mind has become wild and unstable. Even when not employing psychic powers, the psyker teeters on the brink of insanity.
    At the begining of the Astropath's player's turn, he must make a psychic test, and if failed takes a Perils of the Warp attack as normal, without his save allowed.
    In addition, when the Astropath is killed, his mind snaps altogether. In the last moments of life a terrible psychic storm is unleashed. If the Astropath's last wound is taken, he will cast the Scourging psychic power once (Instead of D6 times) on any model, friend or foe, within 8".

    Astral Projection
    The Astropath is capable of reaching out across the warp and touching the minds of others. At any point in it's movement, if the player does not already control any Projections, the Astropath can extend a Projection. Place the Projection within 2 inches of the Astropath. The Projection has the profile shown below. The Projection may be extinguished by the Astropath's player at the beginning of any of his turns. If killed or extinguished, the Projection is removed from the board and does not count as a casualty, however the Astropath must make D6 psychic tests, taking any Perils of the Warp attacks caused, but allowing his Soul Binding save.


    WS BS S T W I A Ld Sv
    6 0 1 3 2 5 1 6 3+ Invulnerable

    The projection attacks simply by making contact with it's target and overwhelming their minds. As such, it uses it's Leadership in place of it's Strength in combat.

    The following armies may take 0-1 Astropaths, which count as an Elites choice:

    Space Marines, Imperial Guard, Daemonhunters, Chaos Space Marines

  2. Remove Advertisements

  3. #2
    Senior Member red_talon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Toronto located at holy Terra itself ;)
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

    4 (x2)

    Wow, very cool idea. That page in the bbb was interesting for me too!
    You call those cheap implants boobs?
    They aren't boobs, they're lies!

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts