Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Am I interpreting this rule properly?
Here is the scenario:
I have 3 Deffkopta's in a mob. I took on a squad of 5 Assult Terminators (4 w LC and one with TH, SS)
This is how turn two unfolded:
Movement - move to within assulting distance
Shooting - Fire twin-linked Rokkits (one Term down)
Assult - Move in for close combat (one more Term down)
With me so far? This is all well and good, right?
We continued in the assult during my opponents turn phase where he continued to wound me but I failed to kill off any more of his Terms.
At that point all three of my Kopta's have a wound, two Terminators are down. So now the battle is 3 on 3.
Now in turn three...
Movement - back off to assult range (since I'm not locked into combat)
Shooting - Fire the rokkits!
Assult - Move in to assult!
By the end of turn 3 I had lost on Kopta and taken out his AT squad. But without the ability to shoot and assult each turn I think my fliers would have been toasted in a hurry.
So did I play this right? Or did I take advantage of my poor ten year old sons poor knowledge of the rules, LOL?
Also... can I CHOOSE to not be locked into combat? Or is it automatic?
In other words...
After my turn, can I choose to remain locked in assult during his turn phase so he can't shoot at my mob, and then choose to "run" when my turn starts? Thus taking a shooting and assult phase on my turn, but denying him the ability to shoot at me during his...
Hit and Run is an OPTIONAL special rule that can be used at the end of either player's assault (assuming you successfully pass your inititive test). You can totally choose to stay locked in combat during at the end of your assault phase to avoid your opponent's shooting, and then leave the combat at the end of your opponant's assault phase so that they are free to move and shoot for your turn.
Also, this should have been posted in the Rules Q&A Forum.