Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So, with people making a lot of noise about the Eye of Terror, Armageddon, and Craftworld Eldar books not being allowed in the UK GT, I decided to give it a quick read. Then I gave it a closer read. A third read even.
Black Templars aren't allowed either.
I kid you not. Read the 'Selecting an Army' section on page 4. 'The army you use must be selected from those listed below.' Further down you see 'If an option isn't listed here it is because it cannot be used, so please don't assume it is just an oversight.' Now look at the list. Black Templars Codex: Black Templars is not on the list.
But wait, you say, they're under Space Marines: Codex: Space Marines most surely. And here is our salvation 'The following Chapters may be used using the list in the Codex of the same name - Space Wolves, Blood Angels and Dark Angels (including Deathwing and Ravenwing.)
Well, damn. So Black Templars go from being the new hotness that will bust up all in your grill, to being disallowed. Tau are golden, but not Black Templars. I'm not particular miffed by this, especially since I don't play tournaments, but it's very interesting.
Edit: I may simply be missing something about how GTs work. This may be not surprising in the least. The Army Selection heading has mention of genofixed Tyranid species... which certainly isn't in the current codex. (Tyranids aren't even allowed according to the Selecting an Army section.) I'm laughing and confused, all at the same time.
Last edited by Bob Dole; May 17th, 2006 at 20:43.
You play your game, I'll play mine.
Yeah, that is rather confusing. Why let all of the other chapters have a go and not the BT's. Their codex came out before Tau and they can use them, so why not BT's. Its all very perplexing.
This is most likly a "miss print" as BT are new someone forgot to edit the text when they copy pasted it from the last GT
The man of tomorrow is judged by his battle today.
Correct, nids are missing too!Originally Posted by RaiderOne
This was posted on the Games workshop events & tournaments forum by Brian(events manager) in a similar thread asking the same question:
Doh, damn that being human thing.
Yep, you're right, the Tyranid and Black Templars Codexes have been omitted ny mistake. They are allowed at this seasons GTs.
Black Templars will be allowed as their codex is designed to be a stand alone codex. All of the rules for spacemarines are written in the codex including "And they shall know no fear".
As for Tyranids I believe this is just a mis-print as doomread said.
Basically life sucks, there is only war and you're probably gonna get eaten by Tyranids, have fun.