Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
with hordes, 10 x 5 deep models across, If they get flanked do they get rank bonus going down the flank or none etc? For my leadership rule, not rank bonus for combat results i mean.
Last edited by Cenedar; May 26th, 2011 at 14:08.
It's called "rank" bonus, not "file" bonus. If you're hit from the side or rear (with a unit capable of denying rank bonus), you lose your rank bonus, period.
I don't have my 8th edition army book to hand, and I don't have it practically memorized like I do the old 7th edition army book. In the old book, the "Strength In Numbers" rule said you only got a LD bonus equal to your rank bonus, so if the rank bonus was denied you didn't get the LD bonus, either. (I.e., if you didn't have a rank bonus, there was nothing to add to your LD. ) You'll have to look at the verbiage of the current rule to see whether that is still true or not.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
You don't loose your ranks anymore when you're flanked with the 8th ed, you only loose your rank bonus at the combat resolution when you're flanked. This means you can still use your ranks for the strength in numbers and if you have more total ranks, you're also steadfast. I looked it up at the rulebook and found that even an example was of a unit that was still steadfast even when it was flanked.
And if you're a new skaven player: Go deep with cheap troops, if possible always take the battle standard bearer and use your warlord for leadership, don't give him 100 points of magic weapons.
Thou should not play frisbee with a shield drone