Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi guys apologies if this has been asked and answered before but I did a search and couldn't find anything and it's also not mentioned in the FAQ.
I've just used Ikit in a game and during the course of the game Ikit wen't and got his magic armour destroyed. Silly rat.
Now in the rules for the Iron Frame (pg69) it states that 'The suit gives a armour save of 3+ and a ward save of 5+' and 'once per game Ikit can fire the warpfire projector housed in the device'. These are the 'Special Rules' associated with it. So after being destroyed I would loose these benefits. So far no problem. However for a reason only GW knows, (I personally believe they thrive on controversy), they have also described the item in the following way. 'A mighty Iron frame gives Ikit his exceptional Strength (which, without the device would be a mere 2). So......my question is that under normal circumstances if the Magic Item did in fact affect his strength directly it would be written in the form of 'The Iron Frame gives Ikit +3 Strength included in the profile above' etc etc. which would then read '(2) 5' and therefore the destruction of it would reduce him to St 2. As it is currently written in brackets it appears to be just a bit of BS blurb for the reader to see why he's not such a weedy rat and not reflect on his rules at all.
Luckily my opponent is a good friend who I play against often so we just used common sense and figured GW had once again made a writing gaff and added something in when they didn't have to and kept him at ST5. What do you guys think or know....or think you know? As always any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Oh and as a side note does the Storm Daemon his Magic Weapon add a further +1 to his strength boosting it to 6 as it's a halberd?
Since when can you destroy armour? Shows how long it's been since I've played Warhammer...
In regards to the halberd, yes it does add +1 to your strength.
I don't have the book in front of me, but if it says that the armor is the item granting the Str, and it is destroyed, I would think that would take him down to Str2.
Fear me, mortals, for I am The Anointed, The Favored Son of Chaos, The Scourge of the World. The armies of the Gods rally behind me, and it is by My Will and by My Sword that your weakling nations shall fall. - Archaon, The Everchosen, Lord of the End Times
Best thing you could do is inquire about it to GW themselves. It would be perfectly logical to assume that, but you know what GW is like. Just ask and post the results up here.
If in fast the book does say the armor gives him his mighty "Strength" with a capital S, I would assume that they are indeed implying to his Strength attribute directly and not just stating it for background commintary. If they regard to it as affecting his "strength" that would imply that they are just speaking as a "In general" terms and not towards the attribute itself.
Again this is just my assumption (and I think you're right, GW is like the kid in school who starts rumors just to see people debate and argue lol)
Warriors of Chaos > 3,000
Life - TBA