Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, hypothetically in a competitive situation:
If a High Elf player is stupid enough to cast drain magic on us, should we be allowed to claim that it increases the power levels of our incantations by 3, thus achieving the opposite of what the High Elf player intended? I think that if this happens you should just explain that it has no effect on Tomb Kings as our incantations are random casting values (or at least that would be the sporting thing to do) but what does anyone else think?
I think it's a game and the one should err on the side of being nice.
If he doesn't understand how TK magic works you should explain it.
Being nice is good.
Tournaments are an opportunity to meet new people.
If they like you then that's a good thing.
You're probably going to win.
He's not played TK before.
the way I understood it, is that TK have no casting values. The incantation goes off on a one or 6 or whatever, so the drain magic only affects their magic not TK's, because it's not a casting value, it's a power level, like a bound spell.
LOL this hasn't actually happened, I was just wondering, because it seems that if it did opperate in this way Khemri would have an advantage. According to the army book
"Items which modify the power level of spell roles do affect incantations (such as the High Elf spell Drain Magic or the magic item, Amulet of the Purifying flame)."
Despite this, I don't think the Drain Magic in its revised form should affect our tomb Kings positivly or negitivly. The High Elf +1 to dispel will still stand but drain magic just doesn't work against us.
In fact, under the old drain magic rules, Tomb King incantations would still go off even if all the dice rolled for the incantation were nullified - in essence, the incantation goes off on a zero, and the enemy High Elf player would still have to sack a dice to dispel the incantation.
Under the new rules for drain magic however, they do not effect our incantations in any way.
Its true, by RAW then Drain magic should boost the powers of TK spells. A bit unsporting though, and any Fantasy HE player who knows TK well enough will know that casting Drain magic against them now is pointless anyway.
I don't think it should affect us from a fluff point of view anyway, our spells have much more in common with priestly powers, they are more like prayers to our desert gods than normal spells which involve manipulation (dice rolls to cast)of the winds of magic. These can potentially backfire, tapping into the ether, exposes casters to the attentions of Daemons or producing the irresistable force effect.
I think the VC utilise the winds of magic because Nagash through his experimentation fused the Nehekharan incantations with powerful Dark Magic creating the necromantic lore. I think this is why their raise spell is stronger, but fraught with more peril, risk of not achieving requisite casting levels, and miscasts etc.
Esentially drain magic affects the ease of access to the 'winds of magic', which IMHO bound items, warrior priest prayers and TK incantations do not use!
How do you expect to defeat me when I am forever and you are just a man...
I asked in my local GW how the new drain magic rules work against Tomb King incantations, well the good news is that is doesn't do anything 8Y
This is even better that the old drain magic rules vs incantations.
So if your high elven player start casting drain magic, just wait till he is done and then tell him