Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just a quick rules check. A unit with the Icon of Rakaph cannont reform to face in combat becase you can't reform in combat, all it does is effectivly give them 360 degree line of sight and maybe an extra inch or so on their innitial charge moves beucase the center of the unit has to stay the same but if you turn them diagonally to face an opponent, then some of the models on the corner are bound to be closer. Right?
Unfortunately I am deployed currently and do not have access to the BRB. However, I thought you could reform in combat if you won the combat. If this is the case then the Icon of Rakaph should be useable to reform in combat since the banner does not mention it cannot be used in combat. Though it could be argued that since it doesn't say you can use it in combat it can't be.
Do not question the dice gods for their wrath is swift and terrible.
Once in combat the unit is pinned with 2 exceptions.
1) Characters can move through the unit.
2) If it wins it can turn to face.
The reform allows you to change from (say) line to block and or change direction of facing prior to the charge move.
So there are maybe some odd things you could do.
There could conceivably be huge and weird effects for a large unit if you were prepared to charge as a line and have just one skelly fight with no ranks.
I can't recall what has priority in the front rank which could be significant if a character.
I can't say as I've ever heard of anyone using it that way though.
You could also get an extra angle for a tactical wheel - particularly against skirmishers that could be significant.
Saving any wheeling on a charge should not be under-estimated.
If you were really gamey and good at distance judgement you could also force clipping.