Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Played a game today where my opponent inquired about the effects of smite in close combat. I let him know that casualties inflicted do not count towards combat resolution, however, (per the Tomb King rulebook) if 25% casualties are inflicted, the unit will have to take a panic check just as if it did in the shooting phase.
He countered saying that since the BRB is newer, and units in close combat at effectively immune to psychology, that they would not have to test.
It's my opinion that age of book does not matter, instead the enemy unit would still have to test had it taken 25% casualties as it is a special case that is specifically called out in the Tomb King army book, and that special rules in the specific army books override those in the BRB.
It states on pg. 49 under Panic: 25% Casualties, that units in close combat ignore this rule. So he was correct, and the rule has been outdated in 7th edition.
Last edited by Spector; December 16th, 2007 at 22:48.
Your opponant was indeed correct. Units in Combat are now immune to that part of the effect of the Smiting spell. It worked back in 6th ed, but has been outruled now unfortunately.
This question came up a while vback, infact it may have even be me who asked it, but i remember getting a defeinite answer both from LO somewhere, (possibly in chat) and also from the people at my local store.
Although your opponent is technically correct (the best kind of correct!) I do not believe it was the intention of the writters of 7th Edition to make anything in an army book redundant (I actually have a white dwarf that says only one magic item was effected by the new rules directly and that was a brettonian item, this clearly shows that it was not intended for smiting to be comprimized).
Does this rule also mean that skaven shooting into combat can no longer panic? (The answer is "yes" I know but still...*Sniff*...The manthings won't scitter away...)
Ooh thats true. Im starting to wonder whether this is a RAW issue. Ofcourse ill need to wait and get home in order to check the ruling, butim thinking maybe the 'immune to 25% kills for panic' was intended so that questions about whether units suffering casyalties ad a direct result from close combat didnt need a panic test. If so, they obviously overlooked quite a bit when they changed the rules.
Also Krox, i know the WD of which you speak. It mentioned the BoC ranking rule aswell. Indeed it is to be expected of a new set of rules to override stuff from older army books. I guess the only way we will find out (Unless they FAQ, but i doubt that will happen) is when the new TK book arrives. And to be honest, i dont mind waiting a very long time for that
The casualties would of course be inflicted in the magic phase and 25% casualties from magic was one of the panic test triggers in 6th.
Perhaps if the casualties don't trigger panic they ought to at least count towards the next combat resolution.