Welcome to Librarium Online!
If my king has the DoE equipped and he gets killing blow against, say a stegadon.....no killing blow correct? Unfortunately i dont have a rule book on me for a quite a while. Also if a prince or tomb king cast smiting on a unit in combat, do the prince/king get to attack with the others?
Models with Unit Stength of 3 or higher are not affected by killing blow.
Yes Characters do attack via smiting as well as the unit (the character is part of 'the unit').
Somw US2 models are unaffected to, but generally most US2 models consist of a US1 model on a mount, and the US1 model can still be killing blowed. Also characters riging monstrous mounts can still be KB'd.
This thread has reminded me of a question i've been meaning to ask for a while. I had a game where my King, with DoE, and his archer block were charged by two stegadons. After the initial mess the stegadons made, I found the king to be BtB with both stegadons and used the special on DoE inflicting two hits on each stegadon, and two on each skink rider as we assumed they were treated as the rider of a large monster. While I couldn't Killing blow the stegadons we assummed the skinks could be and proceded to destroy all of them. Needless to say this seemed like an excessive amount of damage, I forget how many riders a stegadon has but the special destroyed all of them from both mounts and I was wondering if this is how it worked?
There are 6 skink riders on a stegadon in total (or you can mount a skink character on them but no one is foolish enough to do that).
I would say it would be more apropriate to randomize your 2 auto hits between the riders and the stegadon. However by reading the DoE entry in the Army book you see how it specifically says you hit both the rider and the monster in the case of a ridden monster, this leads me to believe that you only hit ONE rider as well as the monster.
Well in most cases there is only one rider on a monsterous mount to begin with. However, in my understanding of the rule regarding the autohits it is 2 for the monster and 2 for the rider as they are essentially two models sitting on the same base.
Remeber the wounds are considered to be allocated to each model. So between the Steggadon and 6 riders a max of 8 wounds is possible as each skink has only a single wound and you can only put two wounds on the Steggy.
Do not question the dice gods for their wrath is swift and terrible.
Last edited by M'muth; January 10th, 2008 at 02:24.
ok wait this has presented a new question, whenever i used the DoE i assumed that you could only use 4 attacks, since the TK only has four attacks. So for example, if my king is in base to base contact with two knights, do i get a total of eight attacks? 2 on both knights, and 2 on both horses? Someone please clear this up cuz this is a huge difference!
No. Only Riden MONSTERS are hit seperately. You can't actually kill a non monstrous mount.