Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok does 'my will be done' work while the prince/king is in combat? If not then i say smiting is utterly useless then. Also, my friend quickly looked up to see if i could use banner of undying legion in combat and he said no. So if thats true you think its worth it to take it?
You can use My will be done in combat. You can even use the king's version on a unit 6 inchs away and not in combat if you really want to (Flank charge anyone?)
And yes, the banner CAN be used in CC. It simply casts the spell every turn, if he tries to pull that on you again, simply say his that there warbanner (or the like) doens't work in CC either...
All spells can be cast whilst in combat, except spells which require Line of Sight (it will say this in the spells description), and some others which specifically state they cannot.
This on page 107, BRB
As for the line of sight rule, you're correct, but only as far as magic missiles. If in combat you can't use magic missiles, but if another spell that needed line of sight and wasn't a MM, like Forked Lightning, it can be used in some situations, like if fighting a swarm then the wizard can see past them, or he could target a Large Target if fighting man sized models, as it can be seen.
Page 110, and what ever other pages about Line of Sight.
Hope this clears it up a bit.
Correct on your 1st point Tim, but whilst in Close Combat, no model from any engaged unit has a Line of Sight to anything. They are esentially only concentrating on the fight, and nothing else. (makes sense really)
And yes, this includes even fighting against swarms and other small things.
A Mage on Dragon cant afford to take his eyes off the Swarm to cast fireball at an approaching Giant
Either that, or I just can't find the right page....
As far as I know, close combat block LoS for everyone involved in said combat. This includes characters in the unit who aren't actively fighting.
Page references would help. I cant anywhere that CC blocks LoS. As said, on page 8, it says only other models or terrain can block LoS.
Unfortunately i dont have the book with me, but i know its there somewhere. It wont say CC blocks LoS, instead look for it saying that no model in Combat has LoS, or something along those lines. Look in the combat section.
couldn't fins anything in the combat section - It only tell you how to fight.
On page 26, it says 'Units in hand to hand fghting are far too busy to use missile weapons, and therefore may not shoot'
On page 110, under 'Mgaic missiles': 'Unless otherwise noted, a Wizard cannot cast these spells if he, or the unit he is with, is engaged in closew combat.'
Are any of these the lines you're talking about? if they are, then they only apply to magic missiles.
I mean, are you guys says that a Lord on a Dragon (eg Tzeentch Lord) cant cast spells because he has no LoS over the goblins he's fighting? I'm confident he can see past 'em, as he's a Large Target.
I might throw this one into the rules section....