2 Questions, archers and light cav tactica... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

2 Questions, archers and light cav tactica...

First of all, hello, I'm new to this forum even though I have lurked here for some while now. Let me just state that as of yet I am no rules expert, so if what I'm about to write now is broken or simply crazy I apologize.

1.) Have anyone tried taking an mounted Icon Bearer with the Banner of the Hidden Dead (not sure about the name but you know what I mean). Deploying the Icon Bearer in a forward position - then summon forth a unit of 5 light cavalry (including a champion) 18" away - and they have the light cavalry charge an exposed warmachine crew.
    -let's pretend a dwarf player has an exposed cannon on his flank, would it have any chance of success to simply suicide-charge the light cav into the cannon? I think it might be worth tying up his cannon for a round or two just to protect more juicy targets like chariots and bone giants etc... or, can it be justified - can it be done? It would be a first strike with a pretty good range, and the icon bearer could take his mount and fall back to safety (or summon the light cav from behind some kind of cover).
    -if the light cav survives long enough, perhaps tomb swarms/scorpions wil emerge (ICF and spread even more havoc in and behind the dwarf lines.