Casket of SOuls Q - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Age
    27
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Casket of SOuls Q

    So im partway into a game and have yet to use my CoS, but a thought occured to me. Does light of death effect units in combat? Or does it work like shooting, effecting those out of combat. I couldn't find anything other than all units are effected while in LoS and it cannot be used if the casket is in combat. Thanks for clarifying before hand.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member willadams33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    366
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    Units in combat have line of sight to nothing by their opponet directly infront of them. Therefore units in combat do not have line of sight to the casket.

    Will

  4. #3
    Member Silmerosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Annapolis
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Will beat me to it. The unit's LoS is effectively blocked by the enemy for being in combat, they're too busy focusing on the wave of bone and steel bearing down on them to see what's going on with the casket.

    As Will has already answered Brandpwn's question, I'm going to bogart this thread with my own casket question. In midpoint games (~2000), how vulnerable is the casket? What you do to protect it from anti-war machine units and such?
    Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!
    Nothing beside remains

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Spector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Maryland, United States
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,931
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    131 (x5)

    As with everything else, it can be a gamble. Against anything that randomizes against the Casket and the Guards/Priest, you should be alright. Against things like cannons, well, either take them out fast with Swarms, Scorps, or Carrion, or give the casket priest a ward.

  6. #5
    Senior Member willadams33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    366
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    Spector is on the money here.

    I always use the casket and against Balistic skill shooting it is pretty safe, you are randomising twice before you hit the LP. However, as with all war machines (because of a loop hole in the rules) they are very suseptable to other war machines, as all hits are against the crew.

    However it must be remembered that this is only really a problem against Empire and Dwarfs, and you should have taken their cannons out with carrion, scorpions, swarms by turn two at the latest anyway, turn one with carrion if possible.

    Also, just because The CoS is an easy target for war machines, does not mean your enemy will use it against them, especailly if your chariots/Tomb Guard are surging forwards.

    Will

  7. #6
    LO Zealot Spector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Maryland, United States
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,931
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    131 (x5)

    Also, beware of Pit of Shades. While it can't kill the Casket, it can eat the Liche Priest who is manning it.

  8. #7
    Member Silmerosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Annapolis
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Thanks fellows!
    Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!
    Nothing beside remains

  9. #8
    Member valdrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    15 (x1)

    Here is another question, can the Casket work IF its engaged in hand to hand, and would it affect the Unit that is engaged with ?

  10. #9
    LO Zealot Spector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Maryland, United States
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,931
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    131 (x5)

    No, as the Liche is also in CC, and he will be unable to operate it.

  11. #10
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    Indeed, the LP and CG act just like other WarMachine crew, so are unable to operate when in combat.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts