Welcome to Librarium Online!
I played a game and bought 6 carrion for the obvious reason, kill the siege on the first turn. I easily made the enemy flee so i charged a unit from behind. Now i've seen numerous statements saying "get 5 carrion to negate rank bonuses", but a few people i know say that flying units count as skirmishers and that skirmishers can't negate ranks. I just need some clarification. And if you guys say they do negate ranks, wouldnt that mean....skinks are more beardy than ever.
Also, i finally used the CoS spell of light of death for the first time ever, it has always been dispell(basically 165points to use the enemies 2-3dispell dice it seems). But i finally got it off killing more 25 guys and wounding heroes/stegadon in a 2v2(4k per side). Is this normal or did i have extremely lucky rolls?
Unfortunately, being fliers they are also skirmishers, and hence cannot negate ranks. They still get the +1/2 for Flank/Rear though.
Wow, kinda lucky, but if it does go off, that just shows the pain it can cause. Worth the terrror factor of your enemies holding 3DD for it no? points well spent, allowing your other magic to go off easier, and the chance at that kind of killing power
You can't negate ranks with carrion, but five or six of them put behind a unit you intend to charge can keep the enemy from fleeing from you, as if they flee, they'll go right through the carrion, and being they're unit strength 5, you'll scatter and destroy them. It's a sneaky tactic I use a lot.
well, I thought that if you rear charged and they flee, they just run the direction you charged them from....so they would run directly away from the attacker....always. Though i dunno how the actual rules are. I believe that common sense just came to me and my friends for that one if its wrong.
i find that the CoS is best used against armies that are large and have low leadership, A.K.A. goblins and skaven are the best.
i own 3 carrion and use them to break my opponents war machines and march block armies.