Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I don't have my tk book or the rulebook on me right now and I had a quick question. If a bsb is by itself and chooses to carry a magic banner, does it confer the magic banners ability onto the whole army or must it be in a unit to grant the banners ability. This question pertains to all bsb's and not just the tk's. Thanks again for all your help.
Each magical standard will specify which units it affects. Most of them will affect the unit that the BSB is currently part of (if he's not in a unit, this means just the BSB himself).
The ability to re-roll (or in the case of undead, to take fewer casualties) is strictly based on distance from the BSB, so it doesn't matter if he's in a unit or on his own. You should generally have him in a unit though, because there's generally very little benefit to having a BSB away from the main body of the army, and you don't want him getting shot any more than he has to.