Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hi - I recently learned that a TKing / TPrince on Chariot must join a unit of 3 chariots for a total of 4 chariots - and that it is not possible to have a TKing on Chariot plus 2 other chariots for a unit total of 3.
Does anyone know where this rule is so that I can read it in the book?
I don't have the book with me so I can't point you to a page number, but in the Army List section under the chariots entry it says; unit size: 3-12
The minimum unit size requirement does not take into account characters, so the minimum must be achieved before adding them to the unit.
Edit: It's on p.45
Last edited by Hiratu; July 27th, 2008 at 09:13. Reason: page reference, correct unit size
Agreed with the above. Although it can be a little confusing due to the way other armies have their Characters placed in Chariots.
However, due to this above fact, i think im going to have to re-look into TK Chars in Chariots... i wonder if they CAN be in units of 2+Char.
I would have thought that the answer is no, 3 chariots + character. That is what most people would say, since the King is buying a chariot, not a unit of chariots and he may ride it on his own without a unit, you are buying the two seperately. You cannot buy a unit if chariots for your king, you can only buy him one chariot, you need to buy the unit seperately and the unit minimum size is 3.
However, if you read the wording carefully in his entry it says 'see entry in the Core units section of the army list, displaces both the crew'. If you take that literally, they are referring the rules of his mount to the core section, where it says unit of 3-10 chariots so his technically could be one of the 3. I have never heard this come up before though, I am more likely to assume that my first point was correct and you need 3 normal before adding the king.
I'm quite sure the 'see the entry in the COre units section' is refering to the stats meaning the King's chariot is no more uber than the other chariots and 'displaces both crew' only referes to the crew not coming with the Chariot when purchased for the king, thus the King's chariot does not get a bow or spear attack from the crew. It doesn't read any other way to me or even imply anything else. The way it reads to me the Chariot is a character upgrade just like light armor or a great weapon.
I have three reasons to think this:
1) there is no corroborating entry in the Chariot unit entry
2) it's not been FAQ'd
3) it would be an exception to the rule that characters either join units or purchase retinues, they don't count as core units. Such an exception would not be as vague as this argument seems to be.
Last edited by medic_4077; July 29th, 2008 at 18:07.
War Record Since Sept 2005
Old Codex 48-20-9 Dark Eldar
New Codex 1-0-0 Dark Eldar
the main thing to me that says the TK has to buy his own is. what if he doesn't join the unit? characters can join and leave units as they please so if you don't join the unit then you have a unit of 2 chariots which is then illegal.
Painting: 20 quarrelers
Yeah, since the TK entry includes the option to buy a chariot, instead of just saying he replaces the crew on a chariot in a unit already made, its pretty straightforward that he buys is chariot then you add him to a chariot unit.
Not that you buy a chariot unit and then add him to it.
"I am the architect of fate!"