Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Tomb King with Destroyer of Eternities and Cloak of Dunes(flying cloak) is the combo that I have been running for a few games. This is not an option that I've seen mentioned in the threads that I've read, so I thought I would give it some recognition.
Pros: If used correctly, this can be a very effective tool. He can fly up to 20" in the movement phase, then if not stopped, can charge 8" into combat and use the DoE in the magic phase. Couple of good uses I've used this on are hitting a unit of cavalry. This can be effective in both in the flank or the front or rear, depending on their ward saves, regen, or if they have combat rez banners. War machine crews: This is an almost guarenteed kill of the machines crew in one round of combat, whether its in the magic or combat phase. Chariots: I can't describe how amazing it is to fly 20" to the rear of a chariot, charge with his first incantation, and smite with his 2nd. Auto hit, auto kill. No roll required. And this is also pretty handy to join combats that are a ways away.
Cons: Don't ever hit crap with a bunch of static combat rez. i.e. blocks of anything. He doesn't negate rank bonus by himself and can only lose combat by 3 without dying. I once made the mistake of overrunning from a chariot kill and a hit a block of something. I killed all 3 guys I was touching, and he didn't get to fight back, but he had 3 ranks, outnumber, standard, and warbanner, for a total of 6. I lost by 3 and took 3 wounds. Which left him with 1, which of course he lost in the next combat phase. Another con is setting up a big move and having the opponent shut down both his incantations. This leaves him sitting out by himself and extremely vulnerable to magic and shooting. Which leads to another big con. Basically this combo gives him no save of anykind. He'll have a 6+ armor save alone if you buy him light armor, which honestly isn't worth it. You can get a 10 point shield giving him a 4+ armor IF you use hand weapon and shield. And when you are weilding a 70 point super weapon, it would be ridiculous to downgrade to hand weapon and shield.
Why on earth would you use this combo? you may ask. Well, the people that I get to play against regularly aren't you're average players. One of them is actually a playtester for GW. So, it didn't take them long to realize that if they just avoid my unit of TG with the king in it. So, I gave him this. It allows him to bounce to my other skele blocks and to hop out on his own when I can do something fun. What I do to help the lack of defense is just don't point out his lack of. People normally assume that you're general has some decent defense, so when they get to choose to attack skeletons rather than him, they normally go for it.
Anyways, let me know what you think.
This is the unsafe version of the of the SoA, Scorpion Armour and cloak. this version lets you Take on Anything really, and come out alive every turn provided you don't get dealt 3 wounds in a single round.
Yeah, I guess I didn't connect the 2. But one question. By SoA, do you mean the Spear of Antarhak? Cause if I'm not mistaken, that provides 0 benefits when on foot. But maybe I'm mistaken. If its something different, please let me know. But, either way, taking the scorpion armor, cloak of dunes, and the crown of kings with a great weapon seems like a decent combo as well. I will definatly try out that combo a few times and see how it works.
But regardless, the threat of unleashing the DoE in the magic phase is worth the risk of no armor in my opinion. Definatly not a combo I would recommend to new players. And I'm also the type of person that like to do things that are fun and unexpected.
The magical properties still apply to the weapon regardless of how it's used. It does provide +1 strength on the charge as well when mounted.
It can be a great combo versus MSU armies as it gives you the option to take out his support units one at a time. I may even consider it for playtesting in my anti daemon builds as it would be quite the surprise to spring the Tomb King out on a unit of stinking Flesh Hounds dont you think lol!
A few issues do spring to mind though, whilst he is incredibly mobile you will need top support him versus anything with a significant static res and if he wins a combat and is stranded he is VERY vulnerable against enemy magic and shooting (if i remember correctly i stopped using him after he was skewered by a dwarven bolt thrower after taking out an Organ Gun.
But other than that, worth a try I think!
How do you expect to defeat me when I am forever and you are just a man...
Ok, this is directly out of the 7th edition rulebook.
SPEARS (INFANTRY) Rules: Fight in two ranks.
SPEARS (MOUNTED) Rules: +1 Strength bonus when charging.
I would take this to mean that it gives different bonus' when on foot or when mounted. According to your logic, you would still get +2 Strength from a great weapon when mounted because you get it when on foot, which i know is not the case. If anyone can verify this either way, please let me know.
Would never use this setup myself. With the Kings MWBD going early, it can be all too easily dispelled.. and then he has absolutely zero protection against whatever the enemy wants to throw at him.
If i were ever to use it, id probably go with the SoA/SA/CoD setup as above.
To clarify for you... the SoA ''counts as a spear''. This means that if the King is mounted in a Chariot, he will get +1S on the charge. Characters can never fight from the second ranks, so he can never take advantage of the foot spear rule.
In addition, the King gets the Magical properties of the Spear no matter where he is lol.
Ok, this is still a little bit confusing, but I think I have things cleared up. The king, when on foot, will NOT gain any strength bonus' when charging, however, he WILL still benefit from the "Regains 1 would for every unsaved wound inflicted by the spear." Is that correct? And also, do you think that is better using a great weapon for str 7 and being able to get the ghetto ward or the crown of kings?
And by Ghetto Ward, do you mean the Collar? Pointless in this situation, as you need a unit close by to use it. If you mean the Ankhra, then thats a better choice. So, A mundane GW is fine for smashy stuff, and the Crown of Kings could be a good item for getting the movement going.
Yeah, the Collar of Shapesh. The Ankhra is 5 points too many for the combo.