Welcome to Librarium Online!
Ok, from what I've read, it seems like cannons are farily dangerous when it comes to the casket of souls. Because they can target specific models within a unit, they can just target the liche priest. And of course, when they hit her, she, along with the casket dies. Well, my last game against Empire, I did this:
First of all, I had a hill in my deployment zone. What I did was put the casket at the back of the hill. I then put the priest behind the hill and to the right of the casket, but within 1" of the casket. I did the same for the tomb guard on the left side of the casket. When it came time for him to shoot, he's unable to target the priest directly because she's behind the hill. Also, if he targeted the casket, it would be impossible for him to hit it, as any shots against it are negated. So basically, it was immune to his cannon shots.
Any reason why this isn't legal?
Also, on a side note: I've noticed that a large number of people who use war machines always position their crew in a tight group next to the machine. You should always utilize the 1" away rule for attacks that use templates. If you have all your crewmen right on the machine and it gets a direct hit from a stone thrower, all the crewmen take hits, whereas if you have them all 1" away from the machine and not togehter, none of them would take a hit. I don't know how many times I've been able to kill a warmachine with my Dwarven Gyrocopter because people put them in a row right behind the machine.
The cannon doesn't actually need to target the Priest, only being able to draw line of sight to it. So if the priest is behind a hill that's fine, but in a neutral terrain set you cant guarantee a hill.
In addition, the Cannon could just be aimed at the Casket. The casket doesn't take wounds, but it wont stop the cannonball (which will apparently ''bounce'' right over it.. hmmm, yes..) Anyway, basically all the opponant needs to do is to aim at the casket and make sure the line will go over the Priest too. Not technically legal but if the LoS is borderline, then it can be done no prob.
Yeah, not having a hill pretty much negates this strategy. I suppose you could deploy right next to forest and have the crew in the forest, but that really cuts back on the casket effectiveness. In my games, how it normally works is, he has his warmachines deployed before I deploy my priest, so basically, just make sure that she's not in a straight line from the cannon to the CoS.
Again, crew in the forest generally wont work, as the cannon crew can see up to 2" into the forest, which is further than the WM crew distance allowed. And it seriously cuts down on the casket potential if one side of the field is blocked form its view lol.
That Casket is an offensive tool, best thing to do is use it as such. Opponents save D.dice for it, it causes terror, the Incants of the Priest are vital. Try not to focus so much on your opponents strengths and hit their weakness' hard.