Welcome to Librarium Online!
If a tomb king in a unit of tomb guard is killed and removed as a casualty, can the tomb king player on his next turn resurrect the king with the incantation of summoning by targeting the tomb guard unit he died in?
The same goes for resurrection a hero from his chariot, or visa-versa, and other such scenarios.
However you can resurrect the SSC from its crew, and visa-versa. Both are legal by the TK FAQ.
The TK player is discrediting the reliability of your verdict. Since he and I quoute, "it specifically says in the rulebook that characters join units and become part of the unit until he CHOOSES to leave. Therefore unless there are explicit rules stating that upon dying, a character leaves the unit, the character is eligable for the incantation as the unit he is part of is still able to be targeted by the incantation but must be specifically selected in order to receive d3 wounds instead of d6."
PS: "If you say he is an idiot, he wins."
Hes an idiot...
He must be for picking up on the work ''chooses'' and using it as RAW lol.
I know it is ruled somewhere (for those with no common sense). Just checked the FAQ and its not there. Ill look into it.
Edit: AHA! got it! Check the spells description. "Characters must be nominated separately from a unit if they are to benefit". If he is not there (i.e dead) then he cant be nominated as a target.
Last edited by Phoenix; April 14th, 2009 at 12:53.
That's my argument exactly, but he says "that your argument is purely based on defining semantics, and that the line you pointed out is merely there to explain that the character will only benefit from a d3 rather than d6 or 2d6."
Tell him that he's a pillock!
He still says he's right -_-
If you have a choice, refuse to play him. If not, let it go... but just remember you hold a massive "moral" high ground lol.
I dont think that GW ever expected the question "can you target a dead character, (i.e one that has been removed from the game) with a healing spell" to come up, not even in the more recent FAQs by idiots, for idiots!
Hence unfortunately it isn't covered in the rules. Fortunately it also says nowhere that during any phase you are not allowed to roll a d6. On a 1+, you get to pick an enemy unit, and target them with a hammer
Last edited by Phoenix; April 14th, 2009 at 14:15.
Touche Phoenix. TBH this is the type of rules lawyering which REALLY peeves one off... and makes wargamers appear really stupid and nerdy!
A character cannot be targetted by a spell if he is no longer on the table (unless the spell allows it as Apotheosis in the VERy old High Magic spell deck did..). The TK spell specifically indicates that the player must determine whether he casts on a character or a unit. If the character is dead, then the character is no longer in the unit and ergo the choice to throw 2D6, D6 or D3 cannot even be made...
Yes teh guy is a dweeb. He thinks he has lawyered a situation that will win him a single game or maybe a few. Play with the massive morale high ground, and then refuse to play him outright. He will use the same trick against other opponents, the will all do likewise. Sugegst that he takes this trick to a tournament, as its "game breaking". Then he will be laughed at by REAL Rules Lawyers, who can manipulate loopholes without destroying the rules!
Join the LO army system! http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...t&uniqueid=910