Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
um ok i know this is me being a bit 'HAXOR" jim duggan here but
correct me if i am wrong
my friends say it I am not able to cast smiting on the kings unit and have the DOE in magicAttack phase use its special attack. because you only get 1 base attack. even if your attack says 4 attacks u only get 1. i said well then ill use 1 special attack then instead of 4 attacks because i obvoiusly cant get 4,why would u choose 1. special attack or 2 settle with1 stat At. you would be silly not 2 . and if they argue u cant then i would like to see where.
also ontop of that. they think im being even more haxor by taking the banner icon of rakaph
having a free reform then move then magic/inc Urgency "reform and charge" again effectivly using the banner 2 X this turn. I argue that when i enter the Movement phase i and able to declare a charge. so therefore before i charge. i can reform. because i can obviously reform before charges in a movement phase.
there arguements (im in a magic/movement phase not movement phase)
what u think?
DOE on 2's LOL
As far as i know the DoE has been FAQ'd to say that you can release the special attack in the magic phase
Yes, you can use the DoE special attack during smiting. Its the TK FAQ published by GW.
And I guess I don't completely understand your issue with the banner, but it works as follows. Before charges are declared, the unit with the banner can make a free reform, giving the chance to get a charge that they would not have had before the banner. Then you move on to declaring charges and the rest of the turn works as normal. So, you only get 1 free reform, which is at the beginning of the turn before charges are declared.
The Tomb King with DoE is allowed to use the DoE's special attack when smiting has been cast on the unit. Go to the GW website and find the FAQ.
As for the Icon of Rakaph, It specifically says in the entry that the reform is performed before charges are declared, so you can charge. Show them the entry if they don't believe you. And if you don't charge in the movement phase, you can still perform a magical charge.
Now you are not allowed to successfully cast the Incantation of Urgency on a unit twice in a turn. The Icon of Rakaph does not count as the Incantation of Urgency. It is completely different.
Please use Capitals and "you" instead of "u" in the future please. Otherwise ill have to refer you to Stoney . Thanks.
If you could go back an correct/edit your previous posts that would be nice, make them more readable Also no leet speak please.
Do this and i (others) will (be more likely to) answer your questions and respond to your posts
Last edited by Phoenix; April 20th, 2009 at 01:41.
are you talking to me? jee'z i though i would be perceived a noob with my jargon.
I've played like 4 games as tomb kings. 3 loss's 1 complete massacre on scaven last night with this list.
Um yeah the thing I mean about the banner/icon is that if i DONT charge reform not to get a good angle but to reform and change my formation from one of 5x5+2(characters) to one of 7X3+(1 rank of 6) then use magic to "re aim/" them if necessary
so lets say i see a threat coming need to get at least charge in my magic/movement, need to reform to get more into combat that can attack so i take the reform and DONT charge. Thinking im going to do a charge out of magic. then by the time i get to magic move them. based on heirachy that maybe the magic before i got them moving change the battle so they werent a threat any more. (eg no longer ther or moved from a flee or something like that) that then when i got to magic move them. needed to use icon again to reform but only to turn them again and then charge.
if that makes sense.
DOE on 2's LOL
I think the question your asking is if you can use the IoR twice a turn, once in the movement phase and once in the magic phase?
If that's the question, I'm going to say no because the rules for the Icon state may make a free reform at the beginning of its 'movement' phase. The urgency incant. is "like" a movement phase, it is still technically the magic phase. But that's my interpretation of the rules, I'm sure there's people on the other side of the fence too.
yes. thats what my peers in the tourney say that technically i am in a "Magic Movement Phase" not a "Movement Phase"
my argumentI argue that when i enter the Movement phase i and able to declare a charge. so therefore before i charge. i can reform. because i can obviously reform before charges in a movement phase.
Last edited by Ashyr; April 20th, 2009 at 05:26.
DOE on 2's LOL
The magic phase is not a movement phase. TK can cast spells in the magic phase that cause movement, but that does not make it a movement phase. There is only one "movement phase", and that is the only time you can use the icon of rakaph.
1) The King may use the DoE special attack as per the TK FAQ when he or his unit are targeted by a successful Smiting spell in combat. Meaning he gets 2, 4, 6, etc auto-hits replacing his 1 normal attack.
2) This is a difficult one... "the unit can immediately make its normal move, exactly like in the movement phase".
"may make a free reform at the start of its movement phase"
So no, you may not IoR under the effects of Urgency. Tbh if you didnt get it right in the Movement phase then you only have ourself to blame