Welcome to Librarium Online!
I've read through the past couple years of Thread titles and it doesn't seem that this question has been presented yet. I find the search option difficult as it doesn't seem to allow for Boolean searches so I appologize to anyone who may have presented this question before.
First a bit of a setup for the question:
In a Dwarf army, a war machine may be purchased and if he wishes (but is not required), he may join a Master Engineer lending his skills. He becomes a part of the crew in every sense and in the case of a bolt thrower, he is the one operating it, as the crew uses his BS value to fire.
Now the question:
A TK player may purchase a Casket of Souls and is required to attach a LP (or LHP). He becomes a part of the crew in every sense, being the sole operator the Casket. The Casket is actually removed if he is not there to operate it. As he is the one casting the effects of the Casket, would the benefits of the Plaques be passed on allowing a re-roll to the Casket's 2D6?
I have asked this question to several gamers who I feel are the most knowledgable in terms of rules and gaming tactics locally, and none of us can come up with a 100% answer either way. The wording of both rules (Cakset and Plaques) leaves both a "yes" and "no" option, so I thought I would toss this out to the TK experts.
Thought I should post the yes and no sides to the question.
The Plaques rule states that "The priest may re-roll the dice rolled for any Incantation that he's cast" (p38 ). The Casket rules state that "it is cast like an incantaion" (p33) . According to dictionary.com an incantation is "the chanting or uttering of words purporting to have magical power." The only model in the unit that could be said to have knowledge of incantations, or indeed the vocal chords to speak them, is the LP (or LHP). This then means it is the LP casting and therefore the Plaques can be used.
The Casket is a separate piece which casts a bound spell which works the same way an incantation does. Bound spells are not subject to the rules of the Plaques so therefore the Plaques may not be used
No part 2:
That would just be WAY too cheesy, so don't even think about it
Hahaha I did like the No 2, but I guess I can answer the question
The answer is NO
The Casket is an "individual" Bound Spell cast by a LP that opens it by chanting. When the Casket opens it casts the Light of Death (since the Line of Sight draws to the Casket and not the Priest), it is not the LP. The Plaques description states that "The priest may re-roll the dice rolled for any Incantation that HE HAS cast"
Hope It Helps!
Ask Nagash! Click on the banner...
WiP TK Army!
Yea, the old addage of "if it seems too good to be true ..... " comes to mind