Welcome to Librarium Online!
ok... my friends and i play at his house and i am the only TK player. in fact only undead player.
we constantly argue on a few things
Fear cuasing enemies outnumbering and winning combat.
i say that enemies auto break and run as its says in teh WH rule book under the psych section under fear cuasing winning in combat.
they say if their units pass the intial fear test they stand and do not break.
the next is like this
i use a tp to cast smiting on archers, friend dispells it, i use LP to cast smiting on it again becuase they never fired it. they argue i can not do that at all and it may not be cast again on that unit. i know where they are coming from but i think that if the INC does not go through i may try to cast again...
so help plz becuase they are crippling my magic
Last edited by Savage_Justice; August 21st, 2009 at 13:54.
AVE SATANAS! TK 3k army (W/D/L)(2/1/0)
I'm fairly new myself but I think I understand both of these scenarios:
My understanding is, if you are a fear-causing unit if AND win combat AND outnumber you autobreak your opponent provided they do not themselves cause fear/terror, are unbreakable or are immune to psychology.
The incantation system is pretty simple and your interpretation of it is correct. A unit may only benefit from the Incantation of Urgency and Righteous Smiting once per turn. So if it is dispelled, the unit did not benefit from it and therefore is eligible to receive the spell again.
i get the fear and auto break thing but my opponents say that if the unit passed their initial fear test that they dont have to auto break.
AVE SATANAS! TK 3k army (W/D/L)(2/1/0)
Oh, I misread what you were asking. My apologies.
I'm not entirely clear on this myself, but it's never come up for me. I think you can only autobreak units that are afraid of the unit(s) in combat, so if you have one fear causing unit in combat with an opponent and that opponent passes his/her LD test, they are not subject to fear, are not afraid and cannot be autobroken.
Just keep in mind that this would only apply to that particular unit, so if your original unit were skeletons, for example, and he passed his test the skeletons alone would not be able to autobreak the unit. However, let's say you have a TG unit that charges that same unit while still in combat with the skeletons and they fail their test, provided the TG don't get wiped out and you win combat, you'd then autobreak the unit as normal.
It does not matter if they had passed their orginal LD check for fear, when you charged them, or if they charged you.
IF you win combat, outnumber and cause fear. The enemy will always autobreak. (Unless they the enemy, is Fear/Terror Causing themselves, Unbreakable, or Immune To Psy)
There wouldn't be a point in fear causing and outnumbereing if it didnt work like that. (i dont know how many Fear checks i have seen passed)
Can be cast SUCCESSFULLY only once on a unit, if its dispelled that is not a sucessful cast and can be tried again
your friend might be confusing fear with terror, as it only has to be tested for once, but fear causers auto-break you in CC if they win and outnumber, unless the enemy have ItP, fear/terror causing...etc.
tell your friend to read the BRB, you seem to know whats right.
Beer, Pipes, and Guns... Dwarves had the right idea.
[Terror is the oly thing that only affects a unit once, but even then the lesser component of terror (fear basically)continues to affect everyone possible.]
Your friends are also wrong about your smiting issue. You are allowed only 1 SUCCESSFUL cast on a unit. The source doesn't matter. If an opponent dispels an attempt it then its not a successful cast, so another priest etc can try again.
Basically, yes, your friends are crippling your magic... because they are wrong lol. Let/make them read the rulebook/army book properly.
The most of it is already nailed Good job everyone!
However, a Unit that is broken by this way (Fear/Terror + Lost CR + Outnumbered) it will still have an option to roll the Break Test in hope for a double 1! (Insane Courage)
If a score of three or more on this final chance of standing is rolled, they will flee automatically (except for the above notes of ItP etc...). If a double 1 (scoring a total of two) is rolled, they will stand and fight, no matter the situation
Hope it helps you out alot!
//Nagash, the Undead Guru
Thanks for the clarity here. We had been under the assumption this entire time that if a unit does not fear you, you can't autobreak it. Unless I'm mistaken, a unit only has to take one fear test for each engagement with a fear-causing unit and if they pass they don't fear you. At least that's how the rule was explained to me when I asked about it. But moving forward, since our interpretation of said rule is wrong...that's good to know.
Luckily, or unluckily depending on your perspective, my skeletons NEVER outnumber anyone after a round of CC much less win combat (they day they actually win a combat is the day I win the lottery...haha) so I've never been hosed by our misunderstanding of the ruling. And I haven't had an opponent succeed on a TG fear test, save one but that unit was Cold One Riders...who didn't fare too well. Three KBs makes for a very sad cavalry unit.