Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey all, it seems we have a few new TK people on here. I played my first game using TK and actually my first warhammer game. But i thought i might share a review of sorts, mostly talking about my mistakes and blunders. not for my benefit but for the benefit of others new to TK.
I wasn't able to play a full 6 turns because of time restrictions but here is a quick over view of the game.
Tk vs. VC 1k army lists
I had 2 priests one with Cloak of Dunes and one with Staff of Ravening. one prince GW, Collar and Vambraces.
30 skeleton bowman split into 2 at 15 each.
1 unit of chariots and 1 scorpion
He had 3 vamps, 1 unit of 20 zombies,1 unit 25 skeletons and 1 unit 5 black knights.
so my first blunder.. was not knowing anything about my enemy. i didn't know that VC dosn't really have if they have at all any ranged troops. If i had known this before the game i wouldn't have made mistake number 2. I tunneled my scorpion. The scorpion never made a appearance in the game due to mistake number 3. Always bring your army book. i forgot mine and couldn't remember the rules for tunneling. i wasted 85 points because of that.
Alright on to deployment. when deploying make sure you put your prince in a position to get into battle. i stupidly put mine on the far side of the battle field.
After that everything went pretty well.. magic was hit and miss.. he dispelled and i dispelled. Then during the 3rd turn i made the mistake that cost me the game. (we called it a draw, but if we went 6 turns he would have won.) always remember.. light chariots are fast cav. they can reform for free before they charge. That very important fact i didn't realize until after the game was over, while i was reading my army book at home. his black knights tried to get a magic flank charge off and failed. i reformed to face his knights (using my full movement) and tried to magic charge him (he dispelled).
Anyway... yea... a few mistakes all something to learn from. i hope you all get something from this. I know i learned alot from my first game and won't make the same mistakes next time.
ok that makes sense. what about reforming to the side. he was just out of my vision arc for a frontal charge.. so i turned (reformed) the chariots to face him. could i have charged?However, you must be able to draw a Line of Sight to the victim to your charge You cannot reform and charge backwards for example
this brings up another thought. can a skirmisher charge a enemy behind them? if you have a tomb swarms with a enemy behind them could they turn around and charge?
Wait a minute...you mean to tell me that he couldn't have used the Fast Cavalry free reform to turn to face the Black Knights (thereby putting them in his LoS) during his movement phase then used the Incantation of Urgency to allow them to charge in the Magic Phase?
That's what I took what he said to mean...but it's been a long day so pardon my craziness if I misunderstood.
The Skirmisher/Fast Cavalry 360 degree LoS applies only to shooting, I think. The only model that I know of in the game that can charge in an arbitrary direction with or without LoS are Chaos Spawn.
Good to make these mistakes early. Atleast youll never make them again
Regarding the "reform", in the OP it reads as though fast cav have the Icon of Rakaph effectively, but this is not the case. Of course, they can reform using their normal movement (for free) and then move as normal, but to charge, Urgency must be used. If they are able to charge normally then their "free" reform shouldnt really matter too much, except in the case where i *think* (dont quote me) you get a free pivot or something? Thatll need checking...
Fast cavalry's line of sight is only to the frontal arc like normal, although they are able to shoot in any direction.
Skirmishers and solo characters have a full 360 degree field of vision and can see and charge in any direction. Thats part of why skirmishers are not allowed to negate rank bonuses.
Depending on how the vamp set up their army tunneling isn't always a bad idea. If they have any solo characters they can pop up and attack them. They can also be useful to march block from behind.
Tomb Scorpion Kill Counter: Gotrek Gurnisson, Empire Cannon Crew=3, Blood Knights=2, Saurus Cavalry=5, Saurus Warriors=3, Razordons=3, Skink warriors=7, Jezzails=8, Poison Wind Globadiers=10, Warp Lightning Cannon=1
unfortunately VC got the first turn. they marched forward first and second turns and my scorp never came up. it was a little frustrating.
You can charge normally in the Magic Phase, as long as you can draw LoS to the enemy unit