Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Had a situation today where a Prince on a chariot in a chariot unit cast Urgency on himself and his unit. He uses the spells effects to charge out of the unit into an enemy character whilst the chariot unit backs away from a nearby enemy rank n file unit.
Under my interpretation of the rules, this is perfectly acceptable as the Urgency spell states that the unit may perform any action that it may normally do during its movement phase (move, wheel, turn, reform, charge).
Under normal movement phase conditions, it is perfectly fine to have a character charge out of the unit he has joined, while the unit may still move off and do its own thing (although it may not declare a separate charge).
My opponent interprets it as the character moving out (or in this case charging) is his own movement, separate from that of the unit and so may not charge out as this breaks the integrity of the unit the spell is cast upon.
I still think I am right in my interpretation, and a third party observer agreed with me.
Last edited by MobiusPrime; October 12th, 2009 at 01:17.
wait so what you did was, in your magic phase cast the urgency on the prince which then declared a charge pluss moved back the chariots ? all from one incant or 2 seperate ones.
if you did both those's things from one incant then yes you were wrong, but if you used 2 incants then ya its all fine! one incant on the prince allows him to charge and the other incant on the unit itself lets them do what they want.
Rulebook - Characters and Units, page 72:
"During the course of a battle, a character is allowed to join a friendly unit of troops - infantry, cavalry, unit of chariots or a war machine's crew, but never a monster, single chariot, unit of flyers or another character! In this case, he becomes part of that unit until he decides to leave it."
Tomb King Army Book - Mankara's Incantation of Urgency, page 35:
"Target one of your own Undead units within 12" of the Priest. ... The unit can immediately make its normal move, exactly like in the Movement phase (it can wheel, turn, change formation or even reform, etc). The unit can charge an enemy and the same rules apply for a normal charge."
Rulebook - Character and Units, page 73:
"If a character is with a unit when it declares a charge, he must charge with it. However, if the unit he is with does not declare a charge, a character may declare a separate charge of his own and therefore leaves the unit when he charges out of it."
So Urgency is cast upon a unit of chariots, which has been joined by a character. They are allowed to make a move just as if it were their movement phase - this includes the character declaring a charge out of the unit.
If you needed two Incantations to make this work, then you'd need two to make any move with any unit that has been joined by a character. The only spell where you specify whether you are targeting the character vs the unit is the Summoning Incantation.
i see what you mean, and now that i think about it more i supose it makes sense. because the character is not limiting the move of the chariots and using part of their move (likie he would be if he was joining the unit). soo i can't give the offical ruling but i'd say its fine then!
I think what you did is legal MP iirc ive done it before too...
Hmm... I think it would be legal because of the wording that says you would treat it like a normal movement. Interesting tactic...
Fantasy: Daemons (Angels), 40k: Black Templars
Makes sense to me, just a bit broken I suppose...
But we're Tomb Kings we need it! lol
Its hardly broken.. Its not like other armies are prevented from having their Characters charge out of units. And tbf if you want your Prince careering off alone into battle, so be it
Sounds a bit murky to me, this situation isn't specifically covered in the Army book or the FAQ so I guess theres no real "right" answer, but it feels like you should either use the incantation to move the unit containing the character or the character independently not both. Its not something that would have occurred to me before and its not something I would try now I know about it. On the other hand unless your opponent plays beasts of Chaos its a bit rich calling foul on a TK player for something so grey.
The art of Eldar: Paint clean, play dirty!
I would say... It works Strangely, it does - never tried that one before
However, I think it should be written in the FAQ before we will get a TRUE solution of this case
//Nagash, the Dark
Ask Nagash! Click on the banner...
WiP TK Army!