Semi-batrep - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Semi-batrep

28 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

298 (x8)

This is more about lessons learned than about a play-by-play.

I just had my first game of WFB since....1998. I've been playing 40k in the interim, but no fantasy. I started painting tomb kings several months ago in preparation for a return to the game.

I about freaked out to see that I was up against brets...he had four units of regular knights (questing?), 2x7 and 1x10, with a BSB in the block of 10. He had 7 grail knights. He had a lord on pegasus and two units of pegasus knights. He had two damsels, a trebuchet, and some kinda mounted peon thingies. I had 10 and 20 bowmen, 20 TG with prince and icon, 3 chariots with TK on chariot, 2 scorpions, a flying lich, a casket, 4 carrion, and a catapult.

My range estimation was understandably horrible, given that I last played 12 years ago, but my SSC did see his BSB unit off the field with a single shot (and hit nothing else the whole game, but 10 knights+BSB is plenty, eh?)...but only because I got a ranging shot off in the magic phase and was able to adjust my guess...and get a hit.

I did suck out all three of his scrolls in the first two turns, so I'm decent on magic, I guess. It's all in how you apply your incantations, I guess. He was pretty smart about which ones he let through...but with five plus the casket, two caddies (one had an item allowing an extra DD 5/6 of the time) wasn't enough.