You've encountered this thread... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    High Priest of LO Nagash's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Nagashizzar, Cripple Peak
    Posts
    1,928
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    115 (x5)

    You've encountered this thread...

    Indeed, you've encountered this thread...

    And I've encountered this problem... And now I will need your help to solve it!


    In the Army Book, it says about the Icon Bearer:

    • May choose magic items from the Common or Tomb Kings magic items list to a maximum total value of 50 pts. Alternatively, he can choose a magic banner (no points limit).

    The problem with these two sentences is that they can be interpreted in two very different ways.

    1. The IB can choose a banner AND another magic item as long as it does NOT exceed the 50 pts limit (banners are still magic items). If it does, ONLY banners are acceptable...
    2. The IB cannot choose a banner AND another magic item. If he/she chooses an enchanted item for example, he must drop the banner. If he/she chooses the banner, he cannot wield any other magic items, even if he's below the 50 pts limit...

    And what I want is to hear your oppinion!


    //Nagash


    Ask Nagash! Click on the banner...
    WiP TK Army!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Junior Member 8people's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    A large box
    Age
    28
    Posts
    859
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    84 (x2)

    As long as the banner is non-magical in nature he can have 50pts of magic items. As soon as the banner is magical he cannot take any other magic items - whatever the points cost of the banner he picks.
    Fantasy: Wood Elves, Dark Elves, Beastmen and Tomb Kings.
    40k: Tyranids
    LotR: Misty Mountains and Rohan

  4. #3
    Member CrimsonWraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    brighton, CO
    Age
    36
    Posts
    140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    The key word is ALTERNATIVELY. Characters can only take a banner if their profile says they can. The IB's profile only says he can if he doesn't take magic items. Sorry, no loophole here.
    Alternatively, you could post in Ask Nagash.
    For the greater good, my will be done!
    Tau- 4k~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Tomb Kings- 2.5k
    Thousand Sons- 1850 ~~~~~Night Goblins- 900

  5. #4
    High Priest of LO Nagash's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Nagashizzar, Cripple Peak
    Posts
    1,928
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    115 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by CrimsonWraith View Post
    Alternatively, you could post in Ask Nagash.
    Lol...


    //Nagash

    Ask Nagash! Click on the banner...
    WiP TK Army!

  6. #5
    Member Savage_Justice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Age
    25
    Posts
    146
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    ya he is right, as all banners in our book, besides standard war banner are under magic banners that would be a no go.

    which makes me wonder what about a warbanner and items??
    AVE SATANAS! TK 3k army (W/D/L)(2/1/0)

  7. #6
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    "Characters can only take a banner if their profile says they can"

    i tried to find something to support this but the BSB is an exception to that rule. The magic banner section specifically allows BSb to carry magic banners


    - edit- im wondering why they didnt use the standard restrictions for armybanners in this book. was it a failed stupidity test or did they intend to say this?
    Last edited by Digger; March 3rd, 2010 at 22:57.
    Eternal Newbie

    Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs

  8. #7
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    What standard restrictions? The Army BSB rules are all over the place... they seem to change them at a whim depending on what mood they are in as the army book is typed up...

  9. #8
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    no man! the time tk was written all the bsb had approximately the same writing for items:
    "can carry any magic banner, no points limit, but if he has a magic banner he cannot have other magic items"
    if they d done that for this book it would have been clear. Now im not so sure what their intent was
    Eternal Newbie

    Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs

  10. #9
    High Priest of LO Nagash's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Nagashizzar, Cripple Peak
    Posts
    1,928
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    115 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Digger View Post
    if they d done that for this book it would have been clear. Now im not so sure what their intent was
    Exactly! That's why I created this thread


    //Nagash

    Ask Nagash! Click on the banner...
    WiP TK Army!

  11. #10
    Junior Member Rahsk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Alternatively is described by the online dictionary as "The choice between two mutually exclusive possibilities." Meaning his choice of a magic banner (all of ours) cuts off his possibility of taking any magic items.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts