Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So my question with TKs is we have a magic item that does the same as a dispell scroll but is not a dispell scroll. I think it is an enchanted item that a TP/TK can use. Are we allowed to take that as well as a dispell scroll for the LP?
I know other armies have similar things even some that have a chance to destroy spells after they are used. I know people all over are saying we can only have one dispell scroll but in reality we can have 2 right?
On the subject of magic phase. When TK magic is really nice is when you can use allies. By our spells not taking PDs we have a ton of magic to throw around, mean while your ally uses the PD. Talking about a dominating magic phase. I personally like multiplayer games.
On a separate note, I have not read the new rules on pyshcology. I get my book on the 23rd. What leadership rules do we need to make on the TKs? Except for crumbling that is. Is it worth taking the BSB now? I heard someone saying about adding him to a TG unit and giving the reroll banner. My problem is that using him will only make our magic phase weaker. I think it might be more important to keep the magic phase as strong as it can be.
It's a separate item, so you can take it with a dispel scroll.
Why will using a BSB make our magic weaker?
Fantasy: Wood Elves, Dark Elves, Beastmen and Tomb Kings.
LotR: Misty Mountains and Rohan
Because for some retarded reason our BSB is not an upgrade on a Prince. The Icon Bearer cannot cast.
Honestly I still see little use for him. Without a Magic Banner the IB is worthless. With a magic banner, he's defenseless, limited to LA, no shield. I had briefly considered using him to help out Ushabti, but he can be picked out (no Look Out Sir rolls either) so I doubt he'd last long. Still it would be nice to get BotUL or Mirage Standard into the big guys.
I'm not so sure. It's taken me a bit to let these changes sink in, but I think he may actually be of some use now. His lack of an Incantation isn't as damning to our magic phase as it used to be.
Apparently, there's this nifty magic banner that allows units to re-roll misses. I believe it would be possible to use the Icon Bearer to carry this particular banner to allow our units to re-roll misses, which could potentially be very helpful. Plus, this banner is just out of the reach point wise of putting on a Tomb Guard unit. I can imagine a unit of 30 some Skeleton Archers or 25 Tomb Guard getting to re-roll all missed attacks.
I'm just sad that we can no longer join characters on steeds to infantry units to get him where we need him to be faster.
I think some of us are still thinking in 7th edition terms. Taking the IB does not weaken our magic now in any way. Although clearly not quite as good for us as he is for other armies, the IB is actually a pretty sweet deal for us now. If you look at him in terms of stats then he's pretty good value for just over 60pts.
Obviously it depends on how you envision your new list working now. When the dust settles and everyone has learned how to play our stuff well again I think we will find that TK armies are a lot more static than they used to be, and castling up around the casket & SSC(s) will be the norm rather than just commonplace. That being the case, the IB suddenly becomes a lot more attractive and if you plant him nearer the back then you wont need to spend a load of points that will eat into your character budget on pimping him out.
For most games you could field an IB for around 1% of your total character points, so he's gotta be worth at least trying methinks.
Because Sun Tzu would play Tomb Kings...
What I would consider doing with the IB is finding nifty combos of banners in a block of TG...that reroll misses banner combined with something the unit banna wava can actually carry...is mirage standard out of reach? BotUL almost seems a waste, since it doesn't prevent wounds or cause more, and duplicates something a priest can do.
On the topic of banners...I keep neglecting to look it up when I get home at night...does the musician/leadership test free reform option allow you to charge? I know it won't let you march, but since we can't anyway...If you can't charge on a musician reform (I don't think you can), then IoR still has great utility, even if it's somewhat diminished. With a TK on board, they would get the musician reform 92% of the time anyway...so being allowed to charge is the only real benefit of Rakaph. The question then, since the other half of Rakaph, denying the enemy a flank charge, is now given for free to all and sundry, is it still worth 40 points?
IG since 1999 __ DA since 2002 __ Tau since 2005 __ SoB since 2007
Brets 1997-1999 __ TK since 2009 __ Empire since 2010
I believe that is the swift reform rule; and I'm pretty sure you cannot charge since you take the swift reform during the remaining movement section along with regular reform. I believe the way it works is that you can announce you are attempting a swift reform, take a leadership test, and then swift reform if you pass and just a regular reform if you fail. If you pass, you can move as normal after the swift reform. If you fail, then the regular reform is your entire movement.does the musician/leadership test free reform option allow you to charge?
Last edited by JL177; July 15th, 2010 at 15:36.
What is this Banner everyone keeps talking about? I see nothing in the BRB like that, and if you're talking about the Icon of the Sacred Eye its a) CC only, no shooting, b) first round of combat only, and c) could be carried by TG or chariots on their own.
The entire problem of the Icon Bearer remains unresolved. He adds NOTHING to the most important phase for our army. He does practically nothing without a magic banner. WITH a magic banner he needs to be in the unit you want affected, and if you don't keep him out of combat completely , he's a free 210ish vp for the enemy because he cannot take any defense whatsoever with less tough and wounds than a Tomb Prince.
I still have no idea why we are the only (I think only?) army for whom BSB isn't an upgrade to our hero. A BSB Tomb Prince would be entirely usable. The Icon Bearer is not.
That is a new 8E common magic banner.That banner you speak of (assuming its the Rampager's Standard) only allows re-rolls of the 2D6 charge distance dice (the dice that get added to your base movement during a charge). It is not for misses such as arrow fire and such unfortunately; that would be awesome.