Question about the Casket of Souls - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Question about the Casket of Souls

    Just have a question about the CoS that I couldn't seem to mesh with the old book and the new errata. The new errata states clearly it replaces the old army book's blurb on the casket. The book stated that the casket was a 0-1 unit, meaning you can have one and only one or none.

    The question is "does that 0-1 part also get removed meaning if you wanted to you could field multiple caskets?"

    (I know it's not feasible for smaller games but for larger ones if you could have multiple CoS's it would make a fun time for your opponent, especially seeing the CoS comes from your lord/character blocs, leaving your rare for SSC's)

    Last edited by Ashannon; July 15th, 2010 at 22:46. Reason: grammar fix

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Nephthysis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x1)

    The errata still clearly says "pg 42 0-1 Casket of souls"

    The stuff they replaced from page 32 never said anything about 0-1 anyway. And the page where it does say that, there's nothing about removing it : (

    A little sad, it'd be kind of funny for a larger game.
    ^_^

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Ah missed the smaller bit there referencing page 42. All's the pity eh?

  5. #4
    Senior Member Undivided's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    312
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    It's still awsome this edition tho.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    True, but I find people tend ot abuse the terrain for the LoS. Does anyone have some good hints ot help negate such tomfoolery? (Aside from sticking your CoS, SSC, archers in a clump and forcing them to come ot you.

  7. #6
    Member Nephthysis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x1)

    True line of sight now (and hitting units in CC) has pretty much negated that tomfoolery on its own. The Casket suffers no cover penalties. If the model/unit can draw a line to the casket, it gets hit (so stick it up on a hill in the middle of your deployment zone).
    ^_^

  8. #7
    High Priest of LO Nagash's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Nagashizzar, Cripple Peak
    Posts
    1,928
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    115 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Nephthysis View Post
    True line of sight now (and hitting units in CC) has pretty much negated that tomfoolery on its own. The Casket suffers no cover penalties. If the model/unit can draw a line to the casket, it gets hit (so stick it up on a hill in the middle of your deployment zone).
    This is not always the best placement of the Casket. To tell where it should be placed, one must understand how to use each and every terrain piece on the battlefield. Playing somehow offensive with the Casket is IMO the best way to use it, even though the defensive way works sometimes too


    //Nagash

    Ask Nagash! Click on the banner...
    WiP TK Army!

  9. #8
    Member shavenrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Age
    31
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    How do you play offensive with the CoS???

  10. #9
    Member Nephthysis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x1)

    He's talking about using it to force (or at least coax) the enemy into a choke point or some other spot where you want them to be by creating a zone that's in danger of the CoS, and one that is "safe" from los. The enemy will likely gravitate toward the "safe" zone where you have something else planned to deal with them.

    Much more difficult now that the majority of terrain pieces are unlikely to block LoS.
    ^_^

  11. #10
    Returning Lawman! Riptor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Stoke-On-Trent, England.
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,712
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    281 (x6)

    Bah, simple way to play the Casket. LHP on it (NOT your Hierophant), take Fozzriks folding fortress, build yourself a nice watchtower sized pyramid (With a flat top, JUST big enough for the casket to fit on), underneath it. LoS to MOST things on the board.
    Rork: In the dark future of the 41st millennium there is only friendship.
    Fenrir: and magic.
    Kaiser-: My Little Chaos Marine, Friendship is Heresy?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts