Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I fought my friend who plays khemri recently. Without fully understanding how their magic works he proceeded to cast magic missle on my banshee. I dispel'd it and he said he would cast it again. I asked him in around a friendly game what made him think he can do that and he said something to the effect that "I can keep casting until I have 2 successful casts, and the only two spells I have with limits on casts are bla bla bla" (but not the magic missle) so anyways effectively that would mean his magic missle is iresistable and I would sincerely hope GW wouldnt have put in unescesary power dice rolling for him if that were so. That alone tells me theres something one of us isnt getting. Was he doing it right but he just shouldnt have rolled a power level for it?
No each wizard can cast only 1 spell per turn unless they have some item or ability to cast 2, I think the lord level ones can.
He should have rolled for its power level too. 2d6 for liches and 3d6 for high liches, which you can then dispel as normal. TK magic is pretty good and hard to stop completely, but not that good.
You should read through the army book section on their incantations.
Strewart - I think he means his friend cast the same spell twice from the same magic user, not casting more than one spell per magic user. But that's not allowed anyways.
But reading the TK rules, a priest may cast a single incantation per turn and a high priest can cast two (including the same one.. soo.. that's the above bit gone out the window). Nowhere can I see where you can keep casting until the spell is successful, so your friend is in the wrong.
Same thing anyway.. Casting the same spell twice would be casting more than one spell in the magic phase wouldn't it? The question was a little bit hard to understand..Strewart - I think he means his friend cast the same spell twice from the same magic user, not casting more than one spell per magic user. But that's not allowed anyways.
Yeah the liche high priest can cast the same spell twice if he likes, other armies can't, but the maximum number of spells he can cast a turn is 2 whether they work or not.
True. t'was the same thing. ^_^
Oh this is some lich in a bone giant I talked about in the vampire section. He apparently gets to cast 2 spells. Probably what my friend was thinking is he gets to literally cast 2 spells until they're successful , minus the 2 spells he thought he could cast only twice. Very amusing, it ended up being inconsequential in that fight, it was basically over by the time he did it, but it was kinda agitating that he didnt try and meet me half way on it.
Oh right.. IMO it is probably best to stick to the 100% legal characters either in the army book or on the GW website, that is if you use any at all. They can be pretty unbalanced and take the focus away from the rest of the armies.
Urgency can only be cast once on any particular unit, same with Smiting. Sounds like your friend confused himself and thought that meant that Vengeance (and Summoning) could be cast until successful!?!
NEVER underestimate the ability of human beings to misinterpret things!
On a side note, let's not forget the good old hieratic jar, which *could* allow a LP to cast the same spell twice (or LHP thrice!)
A Lich in a Bone Giant? Sounds like he's playing the Army of Qatar... What did the bulk of his force consist of? He should have lots of constructs, and little in the way of normal troops. In addition, his only character would be that Liche-in-Giant.
That is, if he wants to use Sehenesmet as he's meant to be used.
Use Light, Beasts, Metal instead of Heavens
NecroLords: Use at least one Death Mage
Brets: Use Peasants&Damsels
Skaven: Don't use Skryre SAD
Thats exactly what it was, yeah he had 4 scorpions 4 bone giants, and several swarms too. I'd say he did ok espically because of how he handled his magic. We've now explained it to him how it works and while disappointed he realizes why. That special character is silly though, it has no saves and any warmachine can eat him alive IMO. They did lose but the catapault didnt make its to wound roll twice to make it end even sooner.
Last edited by Domstrae; June 18th, 2005 at 02:19.