Welcome to Librarium Online!
With all the talk of being able to pick out characters even if within 5" of a unit for the 7th edition, is this the end for our hierophants with cloak of dunes, surely it would be much safer to stick them at the back of a big unit of tomb guard or skellies where he is safe as houses. Remeber, only one of the Incantations needs line of site and that is the magic missile which is almost never used. What do you think?
I wasn't aware you can stick characters in anything but the front of a unit... (really annoying place to put lich priests.. unless they're in a unit of skeletons and not tomb guards)
Can you put priests in the back?
No you can't put them in the back.. Only skaven can do that, and Brets to some extent with their damsels.
I have't heard that rules change for WHFB... That would be rather silly IMO, hopefully it is untrue. If it is true then yeah I guess it would make any form of lone mage a much more dangerous choice, unless you put them directly behind your units where there is no LoS to them...
no the only i reapeat the only characters that can join the back are skaven if a character is in a unit he must be placed in the front rank unless sp rules overide eg, slaan lord
by the way the way i heard it was not that it was being scrapped just reduced to 3 inches instead of 5 not such a big problem
"take my love, take my land, take me to where i cannot stand, i don't care i'm still free you can't take the sky from meee" ;- firefly
"i'm gonna grant you your greatest wish i'm gonna show you a world without sin" ;- serentiy
"I am a leaf on the wind, watch how i soar" ;- serenity
I think any army can put characters in the back ranks of units, but it limits their use. I think there's a rule that if the character is not in the front rank, he cannot:
Grant his leadership to the unit (or units in range for the general)
Use items (scrolls, banner effects, etc)
Fight (even with a spear) unless he's on a flank/rear that has been charged.
Unless you're playing Skaven or Bretonnia, the only thing a character who's not in the front rank does for you is help fill a slot in order to complete a rank.
Also, I'd given up with the Heirophant with the Cloak a long time ago. I always seemed to put him in harms way and get him killed, which would cost me the game. If this rumored rule does go into effect, it won't affect me in the least bit.
No, you can't, the only way they would end up in the back ranks is if they refused a challenge, and were forced to hide. You can't voluntarilly put a character in the back rank. (Only skaven and brets, as stated.)
You *can*, but it is in no way practical. If you take a unit with full command, (which must be in the front rank), and then perhaps another character to fill up a 4th spot, then subsequent characters can be placed in other ranks. However, as Mobius stated, they lose just about all functionality.
The Hierarchy Chaotica: Kinky Sex > Change > Disease > Blood
98% of the population actually believes these stupid statistics. If you're part of the 2% of humanity with a brain, put this in your profile.