Welcome to Librarium Online!
Army Characters will consist of 1 Tomb King + 3 liche priests. 2000 point army.
Casket or second SSC?
The casket is very attractive to me for two reasons:
a) Holding up 2 to 3 dispel dice means I get to raise a lot of Tomb Guard/Skeletons back and the Tomb King usually gets off both his My Will be done. Also, bound items are pretty guaranteed as well (staff of ravening + banner of undying)
b) -1 to casting. Amazing.
However.. what armies do you guys think that a second SSC would be more useful against? LM? Skaven? Brettonians?
If you already have an SSC then go for the bone giant.
Whilst the special rules do appear to be amazing i'm yet to see the casket really perform, especially in 2k points
Even as a psychological 'barrier' if you will..?Originally Posted by Stonehambey
I've yet to use one, but all I have heard is your opponent usually will throw 2ish dice at it, and while the light won't go off, far more important things are happening. In a sense, it's still blinding your opponent as what to do. =P
What problems have you had with using one, stoney?
No real problems as such, only i find the bone giant has served me better.
The casket also ties up a liche priest, while this is fine if there is an SSC nearby, on turn 3 i would like him to help out with charging, ressurection etc
Also the casket's light will have less of an effect as more units engage in fighting, as they can no longer see it
I don't want to put people off the casket. I'm only suggesting other, equally viable, options
Last edited by Sammy the Squib; July 21st, 2006 at 22:52.
I totally agree with you Stoney but I guess I'm stressing the fact that minus 2 dispel dice is amazing.Originally Posted by Stonehambey
Lets take a magic strong army - Equivalent of 2 + 2 + 1 + 1 dispel dice.
6 Dispel dice. Shall we go out of our way and say 7 maybe they have some cool carry over dice abilities or +1 die here and there abilities?
Lets say 7.
Casket - Bam. That's 3 dice gone. You can risk "2 dice" but god help you if you don't roll higher than me - because If my 2d6 + 2 beats your 2d6 on some elite unit - you I may have just made the entire casket point cost back by killing 3-4 models.
Anyways, lets say Joe The Hobo with the Broken Magic Army dedicates 3 dispel dice to beating your 2 every single turn.
He now has 4 dispel dice vs your 5 guaranteed incantations (2 from king/hlp, 1 from each of the 3 other lich priests) and 2 bound items.
Lets say he's doing awesome with his 3d6 vs your casket works, and 4d6 vs two of your priests. Your King or LHP is still getting two off a turn plus your third priest, or prince or whatever is getting off another GUARANTEED (scrolls not counted).
That's why I'm so torn.
Basically, a Casket removes 3 of his dispel dice. A second SSC is technically only one more shot because he has more dispel dice to counter the smiting incantation that my catapult would be doing.
You could also always just go Liche High Priest, Liche Priest X 3, + casket for 7 dispel dice, 14 power dice - but then you may have a problem with some strong meaty rank and file unit.
Anyways, I'll play a few games and try to notice exactly what the casket is doing and get back to you guys.
*raises eyebrow*Originally Posted by Nerhesi
Unless i'm reading your post wrong, you may want to check how the casket works again...
But anyway like i say the casket is fantastic in theory, but have a few games with it and you may find it's not the uber artifact that it appears on paper.
Of course you may love it!
Either way have fun!
Sorry, I meant 2d6+2 beats your Leadership of your unit (8 on most elites). I am perfectly aware that it may only go off Once every few games Stone But it does allow me a much more unresistriced use of incantations.Originally Posted by Stonehambey
I mean... If without the casket, you need all your incantations just to get off that one Charge-move... because 4 of them get dispelled lets say - but the with the casket you get the charge move AND you get a smiting one off as well - on a unit with the TK with Destroyer of worlds. Meh -
Yeah yeah, we can keep arguing about it. I'll shutup and tell you my experiences later.
And, against blaster-magic armies, the Casket's presence lessens the need for raising spells as more of the enemy's magic missiles will fail.
Use Light, Beasts, Metal instead of Heavens
NecroLords: Use at least one Death Mage
Brets: Use Peasants&Damsels
Skaven: Don't use Skryre SAD
I hate this decision with my Tomb Kings, 2 SSCÂ´s or one catapult and a Casket. I am currently musing over this problem for the GT in November. The way I see it, the casket will be useful to one degree or another even if it does nothing all game. It forces the opponent to save usually at least 2 dispel dice per turn, allowing your far more important urgency incatations to get off. The -1 to cast is great but not neccesarily critical. Also think of the Â´lowerÂ´toughness armies out there: Skaven (in theory at least, donÂ´t get me started on how beardy skaven are) Empire, O&G, Brets to a certain extent, you could even include Ld 8 troops which bring elves into the equation because you still only need to role under average (6+) on 2d6 to do something unpleasent. The catapult is great and again, really excels against horde armies, but then it may do nothing for the whole game or worse, misfire. For me, I think it has to be one catapult and a casket, placing them together gives both an effective auror of terror (trust me, this has been a game saver) and it also means that you should get 2 shots a turn with the catapult, allowing you to check ranges during the magic phase making the machine far more reliable. The other thing to remember is that Tomb Kings are one of the most under-played armies in Warhammer. When you play someone who is not too sure about how TKÂ´s work and you tell them what the casket can do, they poo themselves!
Just for the record, in a 2K game a few weeks ago my casket destroyed a O&G giant by turn 2!
Hope that helps,
Everyone talks about "saving dispel dice for the casket" well in a GT you're going to be looking at three/four dispel scrolls per army, so they'll simply scroll it for the first few turns.
Also, why does no-one consider the bone giant?:cry: