Welcome to Librarium Online!
The army book fails to mention anything about how many, if any, of the Liche Priests incantations the Casket takes up. I asked a guy from my local GW store and he said he thought the Casket took up one incantation, leaving one free for the priest, but he wasn't 100% sure. Does anyone have an official word on this?
This is a no-brainer. The lich priest with the casket can cast his incantation(s) as usual. The light of death is a magical attack with 2D6 power level. 280 pts and a rare slot for one attack that can be dispelled is not reasonable. The other abilities are supportive: terror is a defensive ability for an immobile unit. The casket guard is elite but small and immobile. -1 for enemy casting is to partly compensate for loss of dispel dice.
Last edited by oldWitheredCorpse; February 4th, 2007 at 13:22.
and remember that it is posibly 2 dispell dice that the enemy keeps appart to dispell the casket, leaving less dice to dispell your other incantations
"I could calculate your chance of survival, but you won't like it."
"Shut up! Sit your ass down in that chair and DRINK YOUR GODDAMN TEA!" - Cid FFVII
Just to confirm, TK players, since this has come up in another thread - dispel scrolls and similar can still be used against the casket, can't they? I seem to recall from a read of the TK book that it is cast as an incantation, and is treated as such.
Specifically I'm worried about the Scroll of Hoeth and the Sigil of Asuryan, that render it useless if they roll well.
The scroll of Hoeth comes with Teclis, and is a dispel scroll with the added bonus of destroying the spell if you roll higher than the TK - the sigil of Asuryan is similar, but works on the 4+. Spells aren't 'unlearned' (well, it's not worded that way, they simply 'may not be used again in the battle').
TK eratta doesn't mention it, I'm afraid - I was going on the fact that the TK book deals with incantations as spells for dispelling purposes, and also refers to the Deadly Light from the casket as an incantation.
So to the original question, the Casket doesn't take up an incantation, it can be used on top of the priest's incantations.
That's somewhat at odds with the HE FAQ. In there, it states that the Casket is not a magical item/bound spell (as such, it cannot be destroyed using Vaul's Unmaking). It may not take up an incantation from the operating priest, but the TK book specifically states that it is cast as an incantation, with a power level of 2d6.
If dispel scrolls still work on it, surely the additional effects of special dispel scrolls do also? Same with any other incantation - the effects of the Hoeth/Asuryan scrolls just mean that the Liche Priest forgets the words to the incantation/ritual for the casket, or something to that effect.