Welcome to Librarium Online!
Can you cast Invocation of Nehek to a unit in Close Combat?
Answers are appreciated.
Last edited by chosen40k; February 25th, 2008 at 01:36.
When life gives you anything, charge it with Genestealers.
Alarm clock? Genestealers.
Your boss? Genestealers.
The rednecks that cut in front of me at Wal-mart like I didn't have anything better to do than stand in line? Genestealers.
Well it does not stipulate that you CAN, and typically you can't cast into combat unless otherwise noted.
So strictly by the letter of the law you CANNOT. However it does mention that units that have charged do not get charge bonuses. Which clearly implies you can cast on a unit that has charged, which means a unit in close combat...
Think they just forgot that little bit about allowing you to cast into combat, since it's such a simple thing, and obviously assumed.
Just warning you in case some crazy rules lawer wants to put the kibosh on your game...
Read the rules for the spell again. If successful ... (even if engaged in close combat) Admittedly i missed it forst time too, not being too familiar with the VC book, but it is vearly stated.
Well I'm reading the rules right now (the new book) and it does not say that. In fact, it does not even include the words 'if successful' at all. Which strikes me as interesting. One could argue, if they are keen on being beat in the head with a big red book, that Invocation of Nehek ALWAYS gives you D6 wounds, regardless of if you successfully cast it or not.....
Unless you were talking about the now older book, in which case I'm probably quite mistaken.
Ahh... im still on the old book. Fair enough, though i cant see any reason why it shouldnt now be castable into combat. Ill have to wait to get my hands on it to check.
"models that are ressurected within a unit that has charged that turn do not gain charge bonuses in the following close combat phase"
although it doesnt say you can cast it into combat directly, this statement clearly impleies you can