Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
What is the advantage of mounting a necro on a corpse cart as opposed to putting him in a unit of skellies?
In the unit of skellies he won't be hit as long as you've got 5 R&F, whilst on the corpse cart he'll be hit on a 5 or a 6 as it counts as a monstrous mount. Sure, the corpse cart has a 5+ AS and regen, but the necro doesn't benefit from this, and has no save at all unless you start buying magic items.
Or am I missing something here?
The role of a corpse cart is to stay behind your infantry blocks to provide them with its benefits, so by having the necromancer on the cart he is further away from the enemy and out of sight behind the infantry. So the only way he will get shot is by stuff on hills or cannons. Plus when your units get in combat he is relatively safe behind them. Plus being on a larger base will give his spell/spells some extra reach. Thats all I can think of right now.
BEN DIESEL FTW!!!
A corpse cart should be incognito, behind the ranks with a mobile bodyguard of 5 or so dire wolves or some other unit. I intend to run two, each with one necromancers.
you could place the corpse cart in a unit, and then it will always benefit from the CC rules and add some protection form shooting for the CC. In combat, it's probably a hazard unless you get your ASF off, then 2d6 str2 attacks may actually boost the combat potential of a unit by chance
Monsters can't join units, but characters on monstrous mounts can. So long as a necro is riding the corpse cart, I think it's allowed to join a unit.