Welcome to Librarium Online!
So page 107 of the rulebook, you can't cast a spell into combat unless it's on the caster himself or the spell description states otherwise.
Invocation of Nehek, you will sadly notice, does not say that it can be cast into combat. There is, however, the paragraph at the end about charging units, but that seems somewhat inconclusive.
Have VC been shortsighted or has one of our biggest advantages been taken away?
Hm. That's tricky, but the way I would play it is that you can cast Invocation of Nehek into combat. Otherwise I don't see the point of that paragraph being there. I would think that the last paragraph of the spell is suppose to imply yu can cast into combat.
Last edited by brushman; March 12th, 2008 at 22:33.
In my last game, my opponent & I also assumed it could be cast into combat.
i find it quite a difficult codex to read.
i'm quite new to warhammer but a big time 40k player, but if i was a new-comer to the whole thing i'd find this the most horribly confusing codex.
Technically you can't cast it into close combat, because if you read in the BRB it states that spells can not be cast into combat, unless otherwise states in the spells description, weather it's on a friendly unit or not. So by the rules you can not cast into close combat. However if you live in Canada, in our hall of hero tournaments it was stated you may cast it into close combat, but if you live in other parts of the world, I would ask a tournament official what the ruling is before you start your games.
Im going to have to go with NO, you cant. Wind of death clearly states you can, and once again summon undead horde also says nothing about casting into combat, so the same mistake twice is unlikely.
The last paragraph makes sense, if you resurect a nearly dead unit, then use Macabre to charge - resurected models dont get bonuses that turn. The last paragraph argument won't hold up Im afraid - same argument Beastmen Chariots have to take marks, and it's clear they can't.
That must be the point to Blood Drinker and Tomb blade then.....
Sounds silly to just assume it's an oversight, really....it's and incredibly cheap spell after all...you're just gonna have to boost tthe units BEFORE you hit combat, or take the weapons...
I think people's judgement is being clouded by disbelief - you cant cast it into combat. 'Feeling sorry' for the army wont cut it either, and neither will 'but GW just forgot'. Hell, they may as well have forgoten to give my Bloodthirster 20 attacks, so hey, that must be the case!
Last edited by timk1111; March 13th, 2008 at 11:29.
If you read it the rulebook states "wizards cannot cast spells at units engaged in close combat". This is meant to mean you cannot cast spells at enemy units engaged in close combat.
The reason winds of undeath says (even in combat) is so that it may effect every enemy unit on the table.
Hope that clears things up .