Welcome to Librarium Online!
I guess the title sums up my question. If a necromancer is mounted on a corpse cart, can he join a unit like a normal character on a monstrous mount? I can't help but think with it's under 5 unit strength hiding in a small unit of skeletons will mean access to look out sir, and inability to be targeted separately from normal shooting.
That's possible indeed, if our discussion in the GW yesterday was correct :-)
I think it would be a great place to hide a Necro - ON a corpse cart IN a unit... For the first turn or three... until CC was inevitable and then he should bail out behind the unit.....
Stops people "accidentally" overestimating on warmachine shots... "I target the skellies over there. I estimate 32 inches (Its quite clear the the unit is 26 away AND this guy can guess within an inch every time)... Oooppps, I overshot and nailed your cart... Darn...!"
We had a player that played empire that did this with his cannons/mortars all the time.
Now he sits on the sidelines and watches people play.
In regards to the original poster, I'm playing my first game with the new rules tonight. He's gonna be in one of my skelly units for sure. Turns a small unit into a large ranked unit
Of course he's probably gonna die horribly, but that's the fun of VC's to me. Multiple large units of things that can die!
Last edited by ForgottenKnight2001; March 24th, 2008 at 17:56.
A ridden monster can join a unit no problem. It's kind of uncommon since the majority of monstrous mounts you see have other rules, fly, large target, US>5, that either forbid joining or nullify the benefits.
The decision for me would be on an opponent by opponent basis and the presence of war machines on hills. Against certain things (those wretched burrowing TK scorpions come to mind) it can be tough to make sure you get out when combat is imminent.
Its worsts than declaring a charge with infantry in first turn...
Question-how was he allowed to continue playing?
I mean, in my country-he would been called a cheater and rejected...
Or someone would cast a bound spell "Smack in the face";Y
Last edited by DavidWC09; March 25th, 2008 at 12:50. Reason: by passing swear-filter
There were actually notes that GW released at some stage written by Gav (may have been in the back of 6th ed BR that said doing things such as declaring charges that are clearly out of range (the Skaven warp lightning cannon must elect to flee. Declare on first turn anyone?) and wildly over-estimating guess range shots is against the spirit of the game and should not be allowed. Its a bit hard to police though isn't it.. 40" compared to 15" is one thing, but if you have a unit a bit closer behind one of your others.... And if a charge is probably out of range but may not be, everyone judges distances differently.