Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
1) In my casting phase, do i roll for the dice in my power pool, the power dice generated of my casters within 6" and the dispel dice generated of enemy casters withing 6".
2) In my opponents phase do i roll for his power pool, his wizards generated power dice withing 6" and my casters generated dispel dice?
Last edited by Sporran; April 26th, 2008 at 18:08.
It only eats power dice in each player's power dice pool and those from any wizards within the 6". Or at least, that's what I seem to remember.
it doesn't say anything about rolling for power dice, only for the power pool dice(which the army generates), so i thought since it says it absorbs magical energy and its dice "generated" and not "power dice generated" it would absorb dispel dice generated aswell as power dice generated?
although on reflection if it absorbed dispel dice it might have stated power and dispel pool, unless they dont want to negate someones dispel pool dice, a double 6 for an army with only 1 wizard would be devastating, only negate any enemy wizards ability to dispel when they are within 6" of the coach.
Last edited by Sporran; April 26th, 2008 at 19:11.
The rule for evocation of death is, " Roll the dice in the power dice pool, and for any dice generated by a wizard within 6 inches"
the reference to the power dice pool implies that the "dice generated by any wizard," are also power dice.
On another note, if Black Coaches absorbed dispel dice as well, that would be a ridiculously powerful ability.
Hold on a sec, now that I think of it from a RAW standpoint, that would imply that dispel dice are also absorbed, since they are dice that are generated by wizards....
"I am the architect of fate!"
aye i see what you mean with it being powerful but its gonna be very very hard to get the black coach up to flying by the last turn let alone get 2 black coaches to fly if its only done on power dice.
i think when it eats your power and dispel dice kind of balances it out, lets say i dont mind sacrificing my power dice in my casting phase to buff my coach up, but when its my opponents casting phase i'd like to keep my dispel dice but it eats them too just when i need them most.
scenario, i charge my vamps into combat with a unit and fire my coach in the flank, in both my casting and dispel phases it eats more and more of my dice making my magic less and less effective as the game goes on.
i think that could be the intentions, but unsure.
Last edited by Sporran; April 27th, 2008 at 00:54.
i've been trawling through a few sites, and it seems on the whole the agreement is power only the black coach absorbs.
i just wish sometimes they'd add an extra word in like "power" dice generated and you can generate dispel dice.
Ah, but there is only a dispel dice pool, no dispell dice for individual wizards. The dice that are part of the pool as a consequence of a wizard being in the army are not in any way actually directly associated with him. No wizard has dispell dice generated for him. All dispell dice are generated for the Dispell Dice Pool.
for some reason i thought it said that power dice of wizards within 6" were automatically absorbed. guess i was wrong. so only the two power dice in the pool and the the power dice of any wizard within 6" are absorb by the black coach on a roll of a six. is that correct?
Yes. In the VC players phase it absorbs dice from the PD pool, and from any PD from his own wizards if they are within 6" of the coach. In the opposing players phase, it absorbs any PD from the enemys pool or from an enemy wizard within 6". Remember the dice are only actually absorbed on a roll of 6!
To the guy who said its unlikely to get a flying coach by turn 6, all i can say try harder ;-)