Rules: Konrad - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Rules: Konrad

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Scotland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Rules: Konrad

    A model wounded by his sword after saves causes 2 wounds instead of 1. With his Red Fury ability does he get 2 attacks because he caused 2 wounds after saves or only 1 extra attack?
    Or does Konrad only cause 1 wound as its his sword that causes the extra wound?

    Last edited by Sporran; April 26th, 2008 at 19:44.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member 2000AD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Leeds
    Age
    32
    Posts
    459
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    55 (x1)

    Only 1. Red Fury gives an extra attack for each 'unsaved wound'. The extra wound caused by the sword is made after armour/ward/regen saves have been made so it is not an unsaved wound as there is no chance at all to save it, no matter what equipment the target may have.
    2000AD's answer to all "How do VC deal with ..." questions: Forbidden Lore + 2 Power Stones.
    Further answers will require more vodka.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Scotland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Konrads strike using his magic weapon, it says "Any model wounded by the sword(after saves, etc) loses 2 wounds instead of 1.

    Red Fury says"For each unsaved wound that the Vampire causes it gets to make an additional attack".

    What your saying is the victim doesn't get a chance to save the extra wound caused by the vampire so it doesn't benefit from the Red Fury ability as its not unsaved?

    What if the model is a Ghoul that has no armour/ward/regen. Will Konrad get his Red Fury additional attacks as these wounds aren't unsaved?

    I can see this can potentially give 4wounds doubled to 8, then double again is 16 potential wounds which for a 145pt character model is a lot, but corpse carts and the like that are cheaper can cause 12wounds so maybe they haven't mucked up.
    Last edited by Sporran; April 26th, 2008 at 22:11.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    For all intents and purposes, the Sword of Waldenhof causes 2 damage instead of one, not two seperate wounds.

    Also, the wound is doubled AFTER saves are taken, so I think that its for each base wound, not the doubled wounds from the sword. so if he hits 3 times, wounds twice, and one is saved, then two are suffered because of the sword, he gets ONE extra attack from red fury, which can also potentially cause two wounds,

    that's what seems to make sense anyway.

    c'mon FAQ!
    WHFB
    Dwarfs: 3 - 3 - 0
    Orcs 'n Goblins (mostly goblins) 0 - 3 - 1

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Scotland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    aye i agree with there being a FAQ, for each unsaved wound the vampire causes is where the contradiction lies. because the vampire causes the extra wounds even is there was no chance to save them, well there was but only 1 not each individual one. there is no other vampire weapon that causes this contradiction, like a D3 wound weapon.

  7. #6
    Senior Member 2000AD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Leeds
    Age
    32
    Posts
    459
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    55 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Sporran View Post
    What if the model is a Ghoul that has no armour/ward/regen. Will Konrad get his Red Fury additional attacks as these wounds aren't unsaved?
    Yes he'll get the extra attack. If the ghoul had some form of save (which it can get, say from the Drakenhoff banner for example) then it could take it against the initial wound. However no matter what you have you'll never get some form of save against the second wound that Konrad's Sword causes.

    A clearer defination is thus, causing wounds follows this process:

    Step 1 - successful wound roll
    Step 2 - wounded takes any armour save, ward save and/or regeneration they have
    Step 3 - any wounds not saved in step 2 become unsaved wounds and the model takes a wound
    Step 4 - any damage modifiers are applied, for eg. a cannon balls D6 wounds or Konrads extra wound.

    The wounds in Step 3 are the unsaved wounds, they are the ones that save rolls were taken against and failed, or in the cases of models with no armour, like the example of ghouls, wounds which could have had save rolls rolled against if they had armour.
    2000AD's answer to all "How do VC deal with ..." questions: Forbidden Lore + 2 Power Stones.
    Further answers will require more vodka.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Scotland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    i just read, on the UK GW site theres an article on Konrads fluff, it says he can cause a potential 10wounds. he dont benefit from causing extra wounds from the weapon.

    frenzied, 4 attacks from magic weapon, then another 4 magic weapon attacks from Red Fury. thats 8 wounds doubled into 16 then 2 wounds from normal weapon

    am i reading it right?
    Last edited by Sporran; April 27th, 2008 at 00:09.

  9. #8
    Senior Member 2000AD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Leeds
    Age
    32
    Posts
    459
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    55 (x1)

    Well, I'd say he has a maximum potential of 20 wounds:

    3A basic
    +1 for additional hand weapon (Konrad's magic sword specifies he can get the extra attack for additional hand weapon, differing from the standard magic weapon rules)
    possible +1 if he rolls frenzy

    5 attacks total. If all cause wounds then he gets another 5 attacks from Red Fury which can give him another 5 wounds.
    10 unsaved wounds which the magic sword then doubles to 20.

    The comment of 'potential of 10 wounds' I'd say would come from either:
    - Can cause 10 'unsaved wounds'
    - 5 wounds doubled into 10 before you take red fury into account
    - It's more of a rough average, for example causing 3 wounds then getting 2 wounds from the red fury attacks would give a total of 10 wounds caused due to the magic sword. 20 is his maximum potantial, 10 is a more realistic expectation.

    EDIT:
    I can see this can potentially give 4wounds doubled to 8, then double again is 16 potential wounds which for a 145pt character model is a lot, but corpse carts and the like that are cheaper can cause 12wounds so maybe they haven't mucked up.
    Don't forget most models only have 1 wound, and so the magic swords effect will mean nothing against a lot of targets ("Hit's inflicting multiple wounds", "Multiple wound casualties", both on P31 of BR. So even if GW comes up with some strange FAQ that says the extra wounds caused by the sword do give Red Fury attacks then in most cases it wont matter anyway.
    Where it really shines is against multiple wound enemies, like oges.

    Also, while the corpse cart has a potential to cause 12 wounds, with WS2 S2 it's massively unlikely.
    Last edited by 2000AD; April 27th, 2008 at 01:54.
    2000AD's answer to all "How do VC deal with ..." questions: Forbidden Lore + 2 Power Stones.
    Further answers will require more vodka.

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Scotland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    1 attack wont get doubled with the basic hand weapon i dont think.

    thanks for all your help in clarifying the rules for Konrad, much appreciated for your time :happy:

  11. #10
    Hominus Nocturnum jmeis982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    529
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    44 (x2)

    I think the extra attack would still benefit from the rules for the sword. I.e. Malekith has specific rules that say he has to split his attacks between his two weapons.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts