Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, Here are two questions :
1- If a necromancer is on a Corpse Cart, is he protected by the cart, or is he riding it like a monster. I'm more familiar with 40k, and all units have a unit type. In the VC codes, there is a designer's note, but no official unit type. I guess it's a monster by default (p. 57-58 of the ruklebook). I also guess the necromancer got some kind of save against shooting as the "who gets shot" is 2/3 in favor of the cart. The answer might seems obvious for many, but not for me, as I am still trying to grasp the rules.
CHAOS Undiv.: won 14/22 games EC: 4/7 WE: 6/9 DG: 10/15, TS: 3/7 Orks : 13/20 SM NL : 1/6 TAU: 14 of 24 IG: 3/7
Although their is no black and white answer, the consensus seems to be that the corpse cart is treated as a monsterous mount and thus hits are randomised (1-4 mount, 5-6 Necro).
Their is a topic about this on CarpeNoctem (need to be member to see) where how this should work and the relevant rules are discussed that may be worth checking.
Last edited by DavidWC09; April 30th, 2008 at 02:13. Reason: removed link
Aside from the hilarity of a corpse cart taking a Monster Reaction test; I don't think the situation is too complicated. It's ridden, so it's either Cavalry, Monstrous, or Chariot. Multiple wounds excludes Cavalry right off. That leaves us Monstrous of Chariot. The note says it moves and fights as a Monster, it's under Monster in the summary sheet in the back of the book. The only difference from the rider's perspective between Monster and Chariot is the use of a Chariot's saving throw. Saving Throws are used while fighting, and we have it in writing that it counts a Monster in a fight.
I don't think a monster reaction test is needed because it is immune to psychology... It is a bit of a grey area, allowing a necro to go on it GW really really should have defined it better. All we can do is count it exactly like a monstrous mount since the designer note says it isn't a chariot and counts as a monster, which means no bonus to AS for the necro but long range attacks are randomized as described by N1AK, and in combat opponents can choose who to direct attacks onto (cart or necro).
i never thought about monster reaction table for a corpse cart lol. does the zombie dragon/abyssal terror take the test too?
Yup, why wouldn't they? If there's ever a reprint, Immune to Psychology needs to be re-written as Immune to Fear Terror & Panic, which is all it is. Of course in most cases the rider will have been your general and they're going to crumble away anyway with that whooping LD 4 =)
Think of it as more of a test taken beacause of it being severed from the necromancers magic. It simply reverts back to whatever magic will which guided it before... or something like that.
""What's the matter? Don't ya like clowns? Don't we make ya laugh?" - Captain Spaulding.