Welcome to Librarium Online!
I was just thinking, since undead can lost wounds from losing combat, if spirit hosts are beaten in combat by static combat res will they lose wounds (like to regular troops with no magic weapons)?
yes, even if you dont do any actual damage, spirit hosts will lose wounds if you beat them by static combat res
Yeah, opponents will definitely pull that on you, especially if they can get a flank on your hosts and hold down your number of return attacks.
People aren't likely to throw a ranked unit on your host, as that could spell a lot of trouble, but a unit of fast cav or something, they might and just try and wear you down through combat res.
Fast cavalry against spirit hosts? How?
Say they charge the flank so only 1 strikes back, assume it causes no wounds. They have +1 for flank charge, maybe outnumber but probably not, so they win by 1 and cause a wound. Next round they don't get the flank charge bonus, so they have to rely on the spirit hosts killing nothing to even draw, one kill and they are beaten and outnumbered.
A ranked unit on the other hand has 3 ranks, standard, outnumber so now the spirit hosts need to kill a whopping 5 models to draw combat, but the likely inclusion of a musician means they will still lose it.
It will leave the unit stuck there for a fair while without support, but they are much more likely to get the job done than a unit of fast cavalry.. My opponents always use a ranked unit against hosts, sometimes an unbreakable unit too.
I think the confusion is that the rule states that the +1 for flanking is only applied once.
A closer inspection of the rule reveals that this is referring to the instance of both flanks of a unit being charged. If that happens only +1 is still awarded.
So as long as a unit with US5 or more is in your flank, they keep adding an additional +1 to CR.
"I am the architect of fate!"
More likely he's referring to the free turn manoeuvre units which are only engaged on their flank or rear get.