Welcome to Librarium Online!
This came up in a game this weekend. I am possibly running a illegal vampire and want make sure. I have a vampire lord with the cadaverous cuirass and the dread lance.
I was told that you need to be able to take a mundane item to take the magical item. I remember something to this affect but am not sure about it and can't find it anywhere.
I don't think it's an issue for the armor as the magical armor section in the VC book says: All vampires may be given magical armor (including enchanted shield). This will replace any similar items of mundane armor they possess through having the avantar of death or dreadknight vampiric powers.
This kinda indicates that you can but don't have to take avantar of death or dreadknight for taking magical armor. But it is still a question on the weapons. A vampire cannot take any mundane items the normal way. So to take a magical lance do I have to take the dreadknight power?
The 'have to have mundane option'-rule is for armour only (pg. 121 BR, so the lance will never be a problem.
And you only need to have the option, which you do, you don't have to buy Avatar og Dread Knight to take magical armour, so you're right, no problem there.
Yeah the Vampire army IN THE ARMY BOOK!! HAs a Vamp lord with magical armour WITHOUT Avatar of Death??
Though the Blood Knight has been given an enchanted item (not a weapon), also the Vamp Lord in the book has too much pts spent on bloodline powers...lol ;o)