Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was told the other day that magic items and characters from old army books can be used with the current army book with the following provisos:
1. No new items / characters by that name have been created.
2. Its from the same army book. i.e VC 6th edition works with VC 7th edition but the Older "Undead" army book would not work.
To me this seems complicated especially when using older characters that reference abilities, spells ect. that do not exist anymore.
When I asked about it I was told its an old GW rule thats been around for along time...
If anyone could provide me with more information on this that would be appreciated.
That would be a house rule for sure. Perhaps sometime decades ago in a possibly apocryphal context it was an 'official' rule, but definitely no more. The *only* official GW rules are found in in-print bound books that you can purchase off the shelf in a GW store and the associated Errata & FAQ on their website.
I think anyone outside the club/store/circle of players that told you that would be very confused indeed if you showed up with an army list that mixed books =)
Yea I would think play one book or the other?
Vampire Counts-4000 Points
Black Templars-2000 Points
Ooh - I wish I could do that - wheel out Nagash for example, or the close combat gods that were 3rd edition Vampires...or bring in 4th edition special characters from the High Elves book - like Alarielle, the Everqueen, for my High Elves.
In general, there are so many differences between editions, that, as long as your army has the current edition rulebook, you cannot use prior edition rulebooks. 6th to 7th ed was a smaller change, but as Vampire Counts have a new book, and it covers every UNIT from the old book (and adds a couple) then you should not be able to combine the two. GW may decide to publish specific rules for special characters from prior books as PDFs on their website, but I doubt that they would do this as official rules.
i for one wouldn't want to face say Melkhior or the Red Duke as they add too many variables and cirucmstances which may contradict current rules, you can model both of these using the current vampiric powers and magic items close enough...
I thought it odd as the "Black Axe of Krell" made it into the new armybook, and Krell did not.....
If you look on the GW website for England, there were rules for older characters, which were updated for the new editions. Check under the VC section, and see if there are any.