Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
What I'd like to know is how corpsecarts have faired for people. Whats the verdict?
I've been playing a very similiar list for a while trying to improve it both to make it more competative, more fun and to look cool. I've liked the model of the corpsecart but I havn't been sure if it will prove 100 points worth, though recently I decided 2 might quite easily fit into my list and would probably do the army a lot of good. (one with unholy loadstone and one with balefire).
I wasn't sure about them at first either, but after 8 or so add games with it I think it is worth it. If you move properly you can hit at least 2 units with ASF and more likely 3. Vampire armies are packed very tightly together so the range isn't that much of an issue. It keeps your anvil extra scary.
Don't forget that the upgrades for corpse carts stack, so you might want to have doubles rather than splitting focus, just a thought.
Balefire Stacks, Loadstone does not.
When I first started I did not use any, Then I tried one out with Loadstone for a bit. I found Miasma was very nice for the Vampire, Ghouls and Grave Guard but People would save a die to dispel it. Loadstone was ok especially as I would roll low D6 but even then felt it was not quite worth it.
I then ran some lists with 2 carts and Balefire. These make a huge impact on the opposing casting and now your Miasma is also doubled up but now your running 200pts for this.
I have come full circle and my latest list don't have corpse carts only because I can't quite fit them in points wise.
I've used a corpse cart in all but one of my games and think it performs rather well. My army relies on a few invocations to bulk up some units and the lodestone comes in extremely handy. The bound is also very good, I find it's what I cast first thing every magic phase and it will affect 3 units most of the time so when I reach the opponents army it becomes high priority to dispel and will draw a dice out nice and early giving me more of a chance to get the important spells off. Even if it's ignored I have battle line with ASF for them to deal with. Whether it's worth 100pts I'd have to say yes since it gets a fair amount points worth of models raised especially if it adds to grave guard and black knight units, that and ASF can be nasty in the right situations.
BEN DIESEL FTW!!!
I use one of each the load stone between skelli units and the fire to get near the middle of the table and then extending it,s influence over most of the battle zone, added to this i use the black coach to try and syphon of enemy power dice as well.(don't forget the dwarfs still get 2 power dice even if they can't use them.)
The big downside to CorpseC is that they can't march unless you have a necro mounted on them. This means that you're either stuck going 4" or with a bunch of necros. Obviously if you are going fast and hard hitting, CorpseC are not for you. I think that one with a Loadstone is invaluable to a magic heavy summoning hoard though. Your Wight King will also get two wounds back per IoN, which is nice when he hasn't rolled KB yet . ASF is awesome of you get your Grave Gaurd with great weapons striking first. When you combine that with the Banner of the Barrows dispelling ASF becomes a priority for your opponent.
So if you are taking GW GG in a summoning hoard I think one cart is a must, if not two.
From the Vampire counts FAQ
Q. Can a Necromancer on a Corpse Cart make march moves? A Necromancer on its own can, but a Corpse Cart on its own cannot...
A. Yes it can, as it is still a character.
I thought it was referring to a corpse cart on its own outside of range of a vamp. Like if a necro is mounted on it then it doesn't need to be in range? I could be wrong but that was the impression I was given.
I've used a corpse cart in 90% of my games, always with balefire. I find it usually makes an opponent's magic phase a whole lot less deadly even with just one. With 2 it makes it almost completely ineffective.
I'd only use it in magic heavy armies though, as otherwise the ASF is too easy to dispel. But when you combine 2 corpse carts with 9-12 PD and another bound spell or two and suddenly your oppenent is thinking his pile of dispel dice is looking pretty small.
Most Notable Achievements:
Killed a Revenant Titan in one shot.
Killed 900 pts worth of Blood Angels in 2 turns while only loosing 4 pts.