Welcome to Librarium Online!
Id really like to run my lord as a combat beast riding a hellsteed for fluff reasons - but id also like him to be fairly competitive in game terms , am i able to use Avatar of death to give me heavy armour and a great weapon and still ride a hellsteed? and also could i add walachs bloody hauberk to that? or would i be better off with a different armour option?? 4 str7 attacks just sounds such a cool idea to me and really represents his fluff well i think , so any suggestions on how i should configure this lord? thanks!!
yes you can have Avatar of death and be mounted on a hellsteed but you only get +1 to strength instead of +2 on the great weapon . As far as i know as long as the points are within the limits you can combine what you want. If you combine walachs bloody hauberk with Avatar of death, the heavy armour doesnt count.
hmm the trouble is if you want a great weapon on a vampire i think the only way is avatar of death.
First, I'd like to strongly caution you against running your General on a Hellsteed. It leaves him very, very vulnerable and considering the consequences of losing your General, I would say that it's generally not worth it. It would be ok for a second Lord choice in larger battles, though.
If he's going to be mounted, I wouldn't give him a Great Weapon, because you don't get your full S bonus (only +1), but you still lose your init. If you want S7 attacks while mounted, go with a lance. The Balefire Spike is well worth it's negligible cost and the Dreadlance is perfect if you use it in conjunction with Red Fury.
Alternately, if you don't want a lance and want to have higher S attacks, use the Sword of Might. It's cheap, effective and doesn't cost you your init.
For maximum protection for a combat Lord, go with Dread Knight and either Walach's Hauberk + Gem of Blood, or Enchanted Shield and the Crown. Both give you a save of 1+ and a decent ward save.
I do occasionally run a Hero level Vampire on a Hellsteed, though. She has Infinite Hatred, the Balefire Spike and the Flayed Hauberk. I use her to bust up small units and finish off large monsters, particularly those that would otherwise regenerate.
"Is Archon Braigh-Dee going to have to choke a Wych?
Courtesy of Wicky: D.C.S.S.E.P.C.I.C.B.
While I agree with Psyan that the helsteed makes you incredibly vulnerable there is an option available to you, which is to take dread knight and the fly powers. This means you have a decent armour save of 2+, and you can deploy/join units of knights in order to remain protected. Although it takes red fury out of the question unless you drop the dread knight and just take a nightmare. lots of choices available to you there.
Arms are an instrument of evil, No measure for thoughtful men until there fail all other choice but sad acceptance of it.
Sun-Tse : The art of war
Unfortunately if you take Dread Knight you have to ride the provided nightmare.
Im pretty sure Flying horror will not allow you to fly while mounted on a Nightmare via Dread Knight as it does not grant flying to the Nightmare.
A vampire on a Hellsteed can be good but definitely runs the risk of being singled out / beaten by combat res. Even a DreadLance, Red Fury could get stopped by armour/regen/ward or a surprise Magic Banner with static res and then get beaten. Make sure you pick your fights intelligently. Dragons are obviously a better choice as it adds more combat res and attacks but does cost a lot more.
Avatar of death with great weapon gives a 5+ which becomes 4+ for being mounted. This spells doom for your general if that is his only save. War Machines, spells or even mass arrows will kill him easy.
Vampire Lord on Hellsteed
Red Fury, Avatar of Death, Beguile or Walking Death
Dread Lance, Crown of the Damned
This gives you Str 7 auto hits on the charge and Str 5 at initiative auto hits on subsequent rounds.
A 3+ Armour save and 4+ ward save.
Last edited by apbevan; November 24th, 2008 at 16:39.
ED: Having had a good look at the rules, I'd have to call yes he can, since it's technically not the mount that flies. The ruling on the "can I join a unit?" thing is "If the character is on a flying mount, they cannot join units". The only way this wouldn't work is by the steed model and rider counting as one, but then if you want to play it like that, you can just say that it's the whole model, not the steed that's flying.
Last edited by ArchonFarseerGuy; November 24th, 2008 at 23:56.
Yes and a Flying Horror vampire on foot can most definitely join units. Having Fly does not exclude you from joining unit but a Character on a FLYING MOUNT is not allowed to join units. P.72